Help my rescue dogs in my beautiful tranquil home with epic views in California, USA

  • Bisher 1297 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 28 Mai 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  Keine Vorgaben

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I am a very involved volunteer with a group that does dog rescue and and advocacy to reform our animal shelter. If you join us, your role would be to help me take care of my rescue dogs, so I can put more time/energy into my efforts to improve the lives and to save more dogs and cats in our county (and the state).

    A little about my animal rescue project:
    We've made HUGE advances this year which include the opportunity to change the lives for thousands of dogs and cats of our county. Here are some wins that would not have been nearly as successful if we didn't have volunteers along with us to make our work easier.

    🦋 Meetings with Contra Costa County Supervisors at formal and informal meetings. These resulted in the shelter getting funding from Measure X - - in fact they were given MORE than the funding originally requested by Shelter Director (who has recently resigned) These meetings resulted in $750K over 3 years to increase spay/neuter services, mobile clinic vaccination and microchipping, and for pet retention grants.

    Supervisor Gioia wrote to us, "We have not yet developed details on how the money will be spent but will do so in the new year as we bring on a new Animal Services Director. I’m interested in hearing any thoughts you all have on this. Feel free to pass on this information to others"

    🦋 We are thrilled about two staffing changes: the Shelter's Rescue Coordinator left earlier this year and Director resigned. We plan on being involved in the process of advising what a compassionate and competent leader. We also hope to assist in getting a behavior team in there!

    🦋 A colleaggue's Amicus Brief was presented and accepted by the CA's Supreme Court resulting in animals not being shortchanged by the malevolent forces that are driving the charge to handicap rescues. This battle was won, but the war we're fighting is still happening. Still: this was a bit win for the animals!

    🦋 We raised $6500 with an online auction with 120 contributions! These included offerings from: Omaha Steaks, SFMOMA, Oakland Art Museum, Oakland Zoo, Cheeseboard, Wheel of Fortune, Freight and Salvage, and more.

    🦋 More animals are being saved. Every week.
    There is (always) lots more work to do and we need to educate the public and recruit more fosters, adopters and people to help out!

    My dog-rescue/advocacy volunteering dovetails with my OTHER volunteer role in my district as an appointed Municipal Advisory Council person (a civic role similar to 'city council'). Your caring for MY rescue dogs provides me more time to help out the community of bipeds and quad-peds (humans and animals).

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Gartenarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hausarbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    By helping me/us, you'd be improving and saving lives! You'll gain a sense of achievement and see how your efforts lead to 'being the change you want to be in the world." You'll also learn by observing - - a bit about volunteering for a rescue project and community organizing. The biggest perk of course, is you’ll receive abundant love from our furry family while benefitting from their loving company and bonding.

    People staying here will have a lovely stay, learn about activism and animals. And as someone who used to travel ALOT I enjoy hearing other's adventures!

    This is a great place to land!

    I'm an outgoing albeit busy person and my home tends (or had tended) to be a bit of a social hub other volunteers, artists, and DJs often stop by: I"m part of the burning man community, for example. Socially, I'm in tune with the pulse of the Bay Area, while living in a home that is off the beaten path, peaceful with majestic views, and the ease to get into Oakland and San Francisco makes this an ideal destination for landing in the SF Bay Area!.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We welcome travelers who LOVE dogs. My foster dogs and resident rescue dog sometimes need to time decompress - - but always need walks, to be fed and love to play and find people to be the object of their affection.

    You'll be responsible for helping us take care of them!

    In my home sanctuary, you will gain a valuable knowledge and work experience in animal care and animal advocacy. We've been making great strides and could use the help. Your role includes:

    > Walking, hiking and/or jogging with the dogs. We live next to a huge regional park.
    > Watching them play with other dogs or each other (and keeping the peace - they get along with other dogs, but we'll tell you about their individual needs.)
    > Cooking the dog food (human grade) and feeding them 2x a day.
    > Cleaning up after them (they shed) and periodic bathing. (1x a month)


    The Benefits:
    When workaways have stayed with me they typically reap the benefit of a beautiful place to chill and awesome dogs to help out (2 - 4 are here regularly). My space is serene with off-the-hook views, so it's a great place to land. In addition to learning about my awesome social justice cause, visitors can get a full taste of the culture that you don't typically get as a tourist or traveler. I'm part of the burner community - I can point to off-the-beaten-path places to go and various experiences, not typically found in a travel book or on a website. I am in close proximity to San Francisco, Napa, Sonoma, Oakland, and Berkeley, all were able to soak in the Bay Area - at your leisure, discovering the area and all the beauty it beholds.

    Who is Not a Good Match:
    If you don't communicate clearly, follow instructions, aren't detail-oriented or don't listen, are irresponsible, know NOTHING about DOGS or don't know any english this likely is not a great fit.

    If you are local to the Bay Area, and are only looking for a housing solution, temporary or otherwise, please don't apply.

    Two People Travelling Together:
    If it's your account, and you're traveling with someone NOT on the site, know you are responsible for how they show up for the experience. The good part about this is each dog needs their own walk, they can't be walked together...except at night....more details when you get here!

    Dogs Rule.
    Obviously - iF you don't like dogs this is not the place for you.

    I love hosting those who are communicative and enthusiastic about the opportunity to share in cultural exchange. If you want to learn to speak English better, I can help with that.

    Having hosted quite a few workers, I know what typically works, and communication and listening is key.

    If this (still) seems like a good fit for you let me know!

    We’ll conduct an interview by WhatsApp or Zoom.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Hebrew: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Happy to help someone out with English!

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Two spots typically available:
    (1) One furnished bedroom with a full bathroom with a shower and tub
    (2) A free-standing structure with wood burning stove, and electricity. The bathroom/shower in the main house.

    I provide the following food, only:
    fruits, vegetables, beans, pasta, rice, cereal, oatmeal, bread, eggs, milk (for coffee), coffee, and tea.

    Should you need more beyond this, you'll need to communicate clearly upfront and likely need to get it yourself (I can often take you to the supermarket). I don't supply meat, chicken, fish, any packaged or pre-made food, nuts, chocolate, beer, wine, or cheese.

    What's worked best, when we eat the same things, is to share meals - - whether I cook or the workaway cooks. This prep is not typically part of the hours working since we're both doing it unless it's a special arrangement. I often cook soup and fritatta-like dishes.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Ideal Fit:
    I want to describe Workawayers who have been an ideal fit for the place and at this point what I've come to expect if you want to stay here. I RARELY accept workaways who have never lived out on their own.

    Schedule:
    Taking. are of the dogs means your daily includes walking/feeding in the morning and evening, and a short walk in the middle of the middle of the day.

    You'll help us 'cook' their food once every week/week and a half (turkey, sweet potatoes, tumeric, greens, chia seeds, green beans, carrots, black pepper) etc.

    During the day, you might play with them, once a month, bathe them, and as needed, clean up after them.

    It is fairly relaxed here, and we need to keep some rhythm, especially as it pertains to dog walking, feeding, playing,which we can cover on afternoons or days off.

    If you are a digital nomad or have your own job while traveling I can be flexible about timing, for sure, but let us know your schedule and commitments up front. Also we want you to fully enjoy the area, but need to know when you're NOT going to be at the 'dog's house.'

    While here you are in charge of your own living space. Typically you'll arrive to a clean room, and you leave it that way when you depart clean sheets, a fully cleaned room, and bathroom - fully ready for the next guest. All bedding needs to be washed and dried (Yes, I have a laundry area).

    We share the chores to keep up the common spaces and harvesting/general garden upkeep (we grow some of our own food) (Upkeep happens about once a month).

    Transportation:
    Please note: My place is gorgeous, and there 'is' public transportation but know:
 - the bus is a good walk away (about 20 - 30 minute walk downhill/uphill)
    - The bus can take you to the BART.
    - An uber/lyft to the BART to/from house is about $8 - $10 USD.
    - If I head out of the house, I can drive people to the BART

    My home is in the east bay close to the largest regional park with miles of trails in nature. I'm also an easy trek to San Francisco, Napa/Sonoma, and other areas in the East Bay. The BART makes it easy to get to San Francisco and if you have a car, that too makes it easy to explore!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    I have hotspots in house and may be adding more.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    25 hours a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 489174243567

Feedback (8)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)










Ride a horse, walk a camel, learn about animals, gardening, house and farm maintenence in Illinois, USA
Contribute to spreading food and joy through our grow-to-donate farm in Newcastle, USA