Help me to renovate a 150 year old home in the countryside near Münster in the west of Germany

Country

Deutschland

Bisher 23 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    26.08.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    93.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello there :)
    I am Maike, a 22 year old student from Germany. Even though I study in the Netherlands, I currently live in my hometown in North-Rhine Westphalia near Münster and renovate my house. Earlier, I lived as an exchange student in the US for half a year and just before starting my studies in 2017 I volunteered in Argentina for a year.

    A friend of mine told me about workaway and I immediately fell in love with the concept. Even though I expected myself to start as a volunteer at first, things changed and now, I am looking for volunteers myself :)
    Last year I inherited a house that is more than 150 years old and needs a little (more) renovation work which is why I started this profile. I am looking forward to create a place where everyone feels at home and guests are always welcome. At the moment I live alone in the house, therefore I would really love to have some company (and help ;) ).

    During the last few weeks I already had some friends over to help out and it was a great time. Next to renovating, we went on walks (in this small village of 10.000 inhabitants, nature isn't far) or to the nearby city which is about 20 minutes by bus or train. In the evenings we cooked together and had some bonfires in the small garden.


    I am really looking forward to have some people over to share some stories, recipes, habits and everything in between :)

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    My short life so far has consisted of more than four years living in other countries and other cultures. I consider myself an open-minded person who enjoys genuine and deep conversations. I love to share stories with others as well as listen to yours :) Also I regularly prepare seminars for new volunteers who go to south America for a year and I am in regular contact with them.

    In my free time, I love to dance (ballroom and latin) and sing. Also, I have a guitar and ukulele which I currently teach myself to play and you are also more than welcome to play them together with me (with or without skills ;) ) If you want to you can also bring your own instruments.

    So if you share these interests, I'd love to show you and learn from you :)

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    As I already stated above, I look for people who help me renovate my house (probably more than 150 years old). As this house has a long history and itself a lot of stories to tell, I am looking for somebody who works with care and love. For example, I need help painting the walls, grinding and painting the windows, moving furniture, tidying up after work, etc. Personally I am interested in sustainability which e.g. led me to render my walls with clay. However, I am still learning and would greatly benefit from any possible expertise on your side.
    The help is generally not too hard and you can do the tasks according to your skills and interests.
    Also, I would be grateful to have somebody who likes to do something in the household such as helping me to cook etc.

    You see, I generally need people who lend me a helping hand during the renovation process. At the moment, I am writing my bachelor's thesis which is why I might work on the computer while you are here quite a lot. Although I will be present most of the times, I would appreciate it if you feel comfortable to work independently.

    I am free most of the evenings so we do have time to spend the evenings together if you want to and I will of course renovate as well.

    Generally you will have two full days off. Those are flexible and we can talk about which ones suit everybody best together.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    German: Fließend
    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Fließend
    Dutch: Fließend
    French: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will live together with me in the same house. You will have a room together with other workawayers. Please notice that I can sadly not offer a bed but I do have one 'regular' and one air mattress you can use (or you can bring your own). Please also bring a sleeping bag yourself. As you can see, the house still resembles a construction site, so please don't expect anything fancy. However (and because of that), I will do my best to provide you with a valuable and interesting experience here.
    We share all other facilities. You are welcome to use the living room, and the garden as well (together with me).
    The kitchen will be equipped with everything you need. As I follow a vegan diet, I will provide only vegan food during your stay here. However, if you want anything else you can bring or buy it yourself. There are shopping possibilities nearby such as supermarkets, bakeries, an organic shop, some small local shops and a weekly farmers market. You can find everything else in Münster.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    From my village you can easily reach the nearby city (Münster) as well as other cities in Germany. For example you can visit Cologne within two and a half hours by train. Next to German cities, you can visit the Netherlands as well. For example, Enschede is only about an hour by train away. Bus and train stations are in walking distance from the house.

    Even though it is a small village (or maybe especially because of that), people here expect to live a somewhat peaceful life without a lot of disturbances (after 21h at least). However, I have never had problems with my neighbours.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    As I am currently working on my bachelor's thesis, you are of course welcome to work on your projects as well (next to helping me renovate ;) At the moment I do not have a separate room to work on the computer so it might be difficult to work here if you need absolute silence. Besides from that, I have a decent/good WiFi connection if you need it.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 213651944696