Come and join us at our eco farm where we also run a retro shop and cafe in Hörby, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 434 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    28/09/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    3929

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi all,

    We are Anders, Magdalena with our kids August 8 and Greta 6. We are creative family that left the city life behind 9 years ago, bought and old farm and started over. We have no idea of what we are doing but it seems to work.

    Here we live the year around and run a popular organic cafe and a second hand shop from late spring to late summer.
    The rest of the year we work rebuilding the farm and spending time with the kids. Everything we serve at the cafe is grown at the farm, with fermented vegetables, sour dough bread freshly baked every day and so on. We only have one acres of land that we try to utilise the best to our knowledge.

    Right now there is chickens, ducks, one turkey! and bees that we take care of. They are all free range of course.
    We do everything by ourselves and learned everything after we moved here and we do have an alternative, ecological and sustainable lifestyle which we feel we are obligated to.

    One might say that we have an alternative lifestyle but thats not how we see it. We are the ones that are normal and the ones living the so called "normal" lifes are the alternative.

    We live in an old traditional house from the southern part of Sweden from the end of the 18th century and build/repair everything on the farm with recycled/repurposed wood.

    We also have a micro art center for contemporary art. A shipping container out in the field which shows video art. Because Anders worked with videoart and as a curator for 25 years and Magdalena with slow fashion, the aesthetics is also important in everything we create.

    LATEST NEWS! We where just awarded "best cafe" in the south of Sweden so we except a lot of visitors in the summer of 2018.

    We are new as host on workaday but are used to always have people around and the whole family is looking forward to welcome you to our little place on earth.

    Many people inquire about volunteering with us, and we really appreciate all of the interest. It's not possible to accept everyone who applies to be a volunteer. Please do check out our calendar to see when we are accepting volunteers, as we update it regularly, and asking in good time with an interesting profile is one of the best ways to help us say yes to your inquiry.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists

  • Help

    Help

    We follow Workaway rules and expect 4-5 hours, 5 days a week. Since we have most visitors at the weekends we prefer out volunteers to work weekends and be free a couple of weekdays but it's not mandatory.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ help establish new gardens and maintaining the existing ones
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ get rid of weeds in the garden beds everyday.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ help with the firewood
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ general maintenance
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ building or renovation
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ kids care if needed
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ cleaning the house

    The ideal volunteers would be open-minded, self-motivated, mature, independent and at least 20 years or older.
    We live in the countryside so... there are insects, if you don't like this, then maybe this is not the right place for you. It's a dirty job and there is no way you will stay clean.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about Sweden and Swedish country living and we hope to learn about you, where you come from and your culture. Eco farming, baking, fermenting, beekeeping and everything else we can share.
    We are both very driven and have had several businesses before and got lots of experience to share.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    swedish, english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A fresh big caravan with outdoor shower and outdoor dry toilet.
    If you like you can bring bedlinnen, towels and such. Otherwise we can provide that.

    You will have to share the accommodation with others. We don't mix genders at the same time that doesn't know each other.

    It's a simple living for sure and if you cannot cope with that this is not for you at all. You live close to the field and when you step out of the caravan you step on grass. Water has to be carried to the caravan and you take your showers (hot water) outside in the open air. We live in the countryside so... there are insects, if you don't like this, then maybe this is not the right place for you.

    Just so you know what you get into.

    We are conscious eaters and mostly eat vegetarian food but meat from time to time.

    Sometimes we will eat together but be prepared to cook for yourself. You will always have breakfast for yourselves. We will try to have lunch together as often as possible and the evening meal from time to time but I'll say it again. Be prepared to cook for yourself. We will keep the pantry filled with basic stock and the garden is always there for vegetables.

    We cannot provide a full vegan diet so that extra you have to provide yourself. Also we don't provide meat for your own meals.

    It is a small farm and that means there is animals so if you have an allergy for any kind of animals this is not the place for you.

    Most important is to bring good working clothes and shoes.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We love to hang out and share meals with you but we work a lot and the little spare time our children needs us. We try to have lunch together all days but not always. Be prepared to cook most meals yourself.

    You have to know that this is a rural area which means that you have to be able entertain yourself the rest of the time.

    The farm is located one hour from Malmö, Swedens third largest city and another half hour from Copenhagen, the capitol of Denmark. Copenhagen is also the closest international airport. There is a direct train from the airport to a village 20 minutes from us. There is a bus stop in our village 100 metres from the farm that will take you to Hörby the bigger village where one can shop. Thats a 10 minute ride and from there the bus to Malmö, Lund and Kristianstad leaves as well.
    We have bikes you can borrow and the nature here is quite spectacular and there is also another small village close by with a small shop, thai food restaurant and cafe.
    There is a lot of local sights that we can recommend. We have two cars and can sometimes give you a ride.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Our old ferguson tractor and the view from the farm.
Our sandwiches that we serve in the cafe made on sourdough bread, fermented vegetables and sallads from the farm.
Visitors to our cafe at the farm in the summer.
Our second hand shop in the barn.
August and Greta
Anders & Magdalena outside the shop and cafe in the barns.





Host ref number: 995161476131