Let's walk and learn together towards a more self-sufficient way. Komotini, Thrace, Greece

updated
Country

Greece

Favourited 253 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/06/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm Jorge, i'm 35 years old, but i have already forgotten this .. :)
    i'm a Greek guy and I live in Komotini.
    Αt the region of Rodopi, North Eastern Greece, close to Turkey and Bulgaria.

    i believe i am and open minded person, flexible and understanding.
    i prefer alternative way of living, thinking, and generally facing life and every of its aspects..
    i am a pescetarian at the moment.. but gradually i am leaving the known as healthy way of food.

    Workaway for me is not just finding helpers at farm's works..

    Helping each other
    Meeting new people
    Making new friends
    the rest is just LOVE

    i like reading, visiting nature, go for camping, spending time on learning and observing..

    I came in touch with seeds and organic cultivation less than ten years ago.. through Peliti (an alternative community for the preservation of traditional seed and the sustainability of mother nature, peliti.gr for more info.)
    but i will always be a pupil at this lifetime lesson..
    I live at a farm, not very far from the city (3 km) .

    My aim is, my self sufficiency, using environmental friendly ways of cultivation.
    I'm positive with the idea of voluntarism and meeting new people, exchanging ideas ways and thoughts...

    Komotini is located in a distance of 2 hours from Thessaloniki (Greece), 4 hours from Sofia (Bulgaria) and 5 hours from Constantinople (Turkey).

    Can be approached by bus and train or hitchhiking :) !!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    i think hospitality and humanity are such enough in my place.. that can verify my words.
    Greek food, entertainment, positive and educative conversations.. and of course the mother of every language Greek !

  • Help

    Help

    My free time is not stable and surely not enough !
    I mostly need help in gardening and weeding.
    But a farm is not only the garden and the vegetables . .
    Each one will help at the part that can do it better no matter the knowledge

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Greek, English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a shared room for volunteers.

    Food is included and of course you can cook anything you want ;)
    There is a big market in a 300m distance for any of your personal needs.
    5 hours work/day 5 days/week.

    The house is located close (500m.) to the east entrance of the highway for Istanbul,
    at 200m. from the nearest road, so it's a quiet enough place.

    There is a big garden/yard
    Camping acceptable.
    Since there are trees and large place for this.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Thrace, is a very beautiful part of Greek region.

    Rivers, mountains, sea, ancient places, in a 30min. distance from the city center.
    A good variety of places in the city for coffee and having a cosy time...

    Transportation with: bus and train, also bus for the close beaches.
    Also the distance from the farm to the city center, it's about 15 min. by bike. (as an extra way of transportation)

    Further more, there are a bunch of lovely places to visit, here are some of them..

    1. Ancient theater and the ancient Ismara (city) in Maronia (costal place) 35km,
    2. Papikion 1483m. summit (local mountain) 15km.
    3. Vistonida lake (ramsar convention protected) 25km,
    4. Thracian Meteora (rocky place close to iasmos village) 20km

    places are literally many .. we can share the car and visit every place ..

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

the garden.. :)
my daily view
samothrace








Host ref number: 981928639952