Help welcome all year round for land clearance, veggie gardens, animal care, and general farm maintenance in Spain

Favourited 131 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    24/08/2017

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1905

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, my name is Victor. I am a naturalist, behaviorist and professional animal trainer, lecturing in Universities around the world. My main focus is in Ethology (the study of animal behavior in a natural setting), specializing in Equids (mainly horses) and Canids (mainly dogs).

    I live on the farm with my 10 year old son and 7 year old daughter, a dozen horses, 3 dogs, cats, and several chickens.

    We don't follow any trendy belief systems and just get by as best as possible with life on the farm with great respect for natural processes. Our veggie garden is an attempt at self sufficiency of the vegetable kind, and we do avoid all harmful chemicals and practices.

    The farm is off-grid, and energetically self-sufficient with our water (supplied by rainwater tanks and a well). The house is fully solar powered (48V). Charging laptops, tablets and phones isn’t a problem.

    Life on our farm is basic and simple but comfortable.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    Help is needed all year round with plenty of different tasks, depending on the time of year and current projects.

    Typical help includes:
    - getting firewood
    - cutting trees and land clearance in general
    - helping with the animals (feeding, building stables and animal houses, repairing fences...)
    - building walls
    - helping in the garden (making new beds, growing seedlings, harvesting, conservation of fruits and vegetables...)
    - helping in the household (cooking, cleaning...)

    We ask our helpers to volunteer about 25 hours a week, like 5 days of help and 2 days off.
    Times and hours are flexible and also depend on the time of year, weather conditions and the tasks at hand.

    Please consider that the volunteering can be physically demanding at times.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    spanish, english, catalan, filipino

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    As an exchange for your help, apart from accommodation, we supply food (either sharing the meals with us or cooking for yourself) and the use of our limited WiFi which is enough to check your e-mails and suchlike.

    There is mobile phone coverage in some areas of the house (not all phone companies have coverage in the house...but surely you will have some around the farmland).

    Volunteers have their own room with a shared bathroom beside.

    You are welcome with your own vehicle and accommodation, like a camping van, it’s no problem at all and you could also put up your tent in summer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The farm, Mas Cabot, is about 800 meters away from the emblematic town of Santa Perpetua de Gaia (Tarragona), and about 10 kms from the larger Santa Coloma de Queralt, where you find shops, bars etc.
    We are surrounded by lush pine and evergreen oak forests, and matorrales (scrublands). The Gaiá river meanders through the bottom part of the farm, leaving in its rugged path small pools where one can swim in the hotter months. You’ll also find great hiking/biking trails both in and around the farm.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    People who stay with us become a part of our life on the farm. There are many projects on the farm with great learning opportunities in many aspects of daily farm life.

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album




Host ref number: 964692213112