Help on a small farm with horses and sheep in Brittany, France

Country

France

Favourited 812 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    49  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a working farm with horses, ponies and a herd of sheep in the beautiful scenic area of the Parc d'Armorique in Brittany, north west France. We also have chickens and some wild rabbits.

    With lambing almost over we're looking for help straight away feeding and caring for the horses and doing some sheep fencing.

    It is an ideal opportunity to learn about running a small farm. The efforts we made last year in installing fencing for rotational grazing have resulted in an increase in the volume of grass we have for sheep and lambs compared to last year. This allows us to reduce the amount of feed given and therefore the carbon dioxide footprint of the farm. There are more fences to be made this spring in order that we keep progressing

    We are training the horses using straightness training and natural horsemanship, and i am looking foir help with this, however, it is a good idea to become familiar with Parelli via youtube so you come with a basic comprehension of pressure/ release and approach/retreat techniques. Helping with the starting and riding of the ponies and horses whilst they are being trained is possible if you are willing to come away from traditional pressure/pressure techniques.

    I would prefer helpers who love the countryside because we really are in the countryside and there are no big cities around. There are some lovely walks available in the area and in the forests of Huelgoat.

    We prefer helpers to stay two weeks or more. Although we love it, caring for the animals on the farm restricts our ability to travel and meet people. Having volunteers give us a great opportunity to meet people and learn about their lives wherever they live. We all speak English here so it would be difficult to improve your French. A certain level of English is appreciated. Please contact us in English as we don't always have the time to translate messages.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda con animales

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Meet other workawayers from around Europe and the world. Learn about caring for sheep and horses. Learn hoof trimming, Straightness training and natural horsemanship. Explore local towns and countryside. Be immersed in the beautiful brittany countryside for the time of your stay.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help from experienced riders with the horses and some help with the sheep from time to time. We are interested particularly in having helpers who are passionate about horses and learning more about training horses.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    we use english at home but we do speak french as well

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is in a house, caravan or camping depending on weather. Three shated meals a day is provided. Vegetarians are welcome, but unfortunately, we are unable to cater for vegans and those with wheat, egg and dairy allergies.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Just to be on the safe side, please take out some accident insurance and get a European health card if you live in EU but not in France.

    You can get to us by ferry plane or train. Local rail stations are at Carhaix or Morlaix, there is also Roscoff ferry port and Brest airport. There are very cheap public bus routes from these places to the local town, the details of which we can discuss before you come.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    variable hours about 25 per week

This is me with Evita. I'm asking her to go backwards using the yoyo game
This is quieto being prepared for riding






























Host ref number: 962962555267