Help us renovate our House in Anglesey North Wales, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 77 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    232

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our story sounds a bit bonkers, but I am always looking for the next adventure and believe that every experience however challenging is an opportunity to learn. I am a single mother and an artist/curator and writer. I have two boys 12 and 14, and my eldest is autistic with delayed learning. Both my boys have strong characters and good souls and are an absolute blessing in my life. We have recently embarked on a new adventure, moving from my home town of Hastings all the way to beautiful North Wales. I am currently caring for my son full time, but he is starting at his new school very soon (Jan 2018) and this will give me more time to focus on the house as well as creative projects. The house is a very large Old Vicarage in need of a lot of work, the project is full renovation on a shoestring. The list of jobs that need doing is quite long and I intend to take a year to 18 months to complete them. I am looking for capable and enthusiastic individuals who are willing to get stuck in.

    I will also be keen to hear from people looking for housekeeping work and support with my boys. Ideally I would like someone who can focus on domestic chores while I work with other work away friends on the building work.c

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The benefits of this project would be different for each individual as everyone will be wanting to get something different from the experience. I'm really keen to work with people who will value the experience and so would like to ask that you consider what value it will have for you before choosing to come and work with me. A list of benefits to consider:
    1. Learning new skills
    2. Learning a new language if English is not your first language. You may also wish to learn Welsh as this area of Wales is strongly bilingual.
    3. Accommodation in an area of outstanding natural beauty, 10 minutes drive to some of the most beautiful sandy beaches in the UK.
    4. Rough 45 minutes drive to the stunning mountains of Snowdonia!!
    5. Experience of living and working with a child on the autistic spectrum.
    6. The support, freedom and space to be creative, make art (paint/film/sculpture/installation/photography etc), write a novel, curate a mini exhibition. (please let me know if this interests you when you apply as we can talk about what you want to do and I can do my best to accommodate)

  • Help

    Help

    . In the garden which has been utterly neglected I hope to put up a fence and do some general planting including trees and shrubs so someone with green fingers would be fantastic.

    The work that currently needs doing on the renovation side is cleaning and painting as we are now a good year into the project.

    With regards to housekeeping work, general cleaning and some cooking wood be great. It would also be great to have someone who is interested in working with children, or who has a skill that they could impart, I am keen for them to have the opportunity to learn new languages and to play instruments, so if you are a musician this would be great. My eldest Hugo, who is autistic, is very interested in making and fixing things, so someone who has skills in woodwork or fixing electrical goods would be perfect for him.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I currently have one large spare bedroom available that can sleep up to 4 people. So if you are coming as a group let me know and I can arrange the beds to suit, and one smaller room that can sleep two or three. The house has two bathrooms and a separate toilet, currently only one of the bathrooms plus toilet is useable, the other bathroom needs plumbing work (one of the jobs that needs doing), so you will be sharing the family bathroom. The house also has two kitchens (one is a kitchenette which is in need of refurbishment but has a sink and cooker), so you will be able to cook for yourselves on your days off.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Here in Anglesey you are surrounded by stunning landscapes and views of Snowdonian mountains as a back drop. There are miles and miles of sandy beaches and long rugged walks. For those of you with an adventurous and energetic spirit there is plenty of climbing to be done. Snowdon has also re-opened it's old victorian railway and you can catch a steam train all the way to the summit and then walk down if climbing sounds a bit strenuous. North Wales is also home to Zip World, a company that has utilised several disused slate mines for various crazy indoor and outdoor physical activities including enormous cavern with suspended trampolines and huge outdoor zip wires as well as a mountain toboggan rail, the are definitely worth a look on google. Theres plenty of historic site seeing to be done on Anglesey itself too and lots of water fun if you know where to look.
    If you are not coming to us by car there are a number of busses that take you from outside our door to all the main towns and villages as well as to local train stations, these busses are not as frequent as you might like, so good advance planning is needed. We have a basement to store bikes and you are very welcome to bring your bike with you, its a great way to see the island and there are a number of very useful bike paths. If you don’t have room for your bike or are travelling light I have two bikes that both need fixing and if you can fix one or both up you are welcome to use them during your stay.
    In the village that we live in there are two pubs, one Church, a cafe, a convenience store which also has a post office where you can withdraw cash, a launderette, a fish and chip shop and few small browsing shops such as a musical instrument store and an antique shop. There is also a local gallery that I haven't checked out yet. Everything in the village is just a few minutes walk from the front door.
    As described above the house in need of a lot of work so be prepared for the dated carpets and weird decor. We do have central heating and fairly cosy snug space for breakfast and evening meals and there is double glazing already installed.
    We want to welcome you into our home and we hope you will feel comfortable here, but we do ask that you respect that this is a family home and that there may be routines that can't be disrupted, particularly where my autistic son is concerned. While we hope you can relax and enjoy your stay with us, we also ask that you respect our need for space and quiet time at regular intervals.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week








Host ref number: 923115342579