Help out with gardening and our renovation project in the countryside of north-Saxony, Germany

Country

Germany

updated  

Favourited 31 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Two years ago we, now a family of four (our kids are 4 and 1) left the city for a life aligned with the rhythms of nature as much as possible and as it suits us. In the countryside of north-saxony we made a historic water mill with a surrounding huge garden area our new home.

    Though we almost finished a little farm house for our living, the more than 200 years old mill still needs restauration. Within the last two years, we've created a place where we are able to live, but still envision so much more: Implementing permaculture principles wherever we can, grow our our own food as much as possible and care for even more animals than our dog, cats and chicken. Also we'd love to host cultural events as film screenings, small concerts and theater plays for the surrounding community now and then.

    At the core of it all is our soul project of a nature/wilderness retreat that's slowly becoming form.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love to give you some insights in our small farm living in a rural area of Germany with a great amount of ecological awareness. You might learn a thing or two about renovation of old buildings, fixing, maintaining or upcycling.
    You might also benefit from our background as wildernis and nature educators, get in deeper connection with nature and explore with us all the facettes of our earth's magic.
    And if you want to learn the German language, we are happy to help you with that.

  • Help

    Help

    Your hands and hearts are welcome.Throughout the year we always need help with building and most of the year with gardening, as well as preserving the harvest. If you enjoy cooking, we'd love to eat what you prepare. If you like to spend time with our kids/animals, we are happy to tend to some other chores meanwhile. We have also many fun ideas which we will realise at the given time, for example building an outdoor hot tub/sauna wagon or children’s and adult’s playground. And we'd love to sit together at the fire and dwell in mutual inspiring conversation.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English, French, Swedish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can offer two kinds of accomodation. One is a tiny house on wheels in our garden with a wonderful view over the fields. The wagon contains a wood stove, 2-flame gas cooker, fridge and sleeping space for up to 3 adults. So please take into consideration that you might need to share the space with other Workawayers. We also have a camping trailer which is well equipped. During the warmer season you will find many quiet places on our ground for putting a tent. Next to the tiny house there‘s a compost toilet and another water toilet can be found within the mill.

    We prepare at least one warm meal during the day including meat/fish from ethical sources and greens and fruits from organic farming (as much as possible). We are very conscious about our food but deeply respect other choices of nutrition. So as vegan or vegetarian you are of course very welcome to stay with us. If your preferences of food differ too much from ours you might need to prepare it for yourself.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live very close to nature, so best if you like to take walks in the woods, listen to old oaks, follow animal tracks or love to hike. We can also offer a small amount of bikes. The big river Elbe is quite nearby and is accompanied by a proper bike trail. 5 mins away there's a bus stop which connects you to the nearest towns Torgau and Bad Düben (both 20 mins.). But busses don’t run that often. From Torgau you can take the train to Leipzig (ca. 40 mins.)

    We have internet/wifi but the access is very limited.
    Our labrador dog Paula is curious and loves to play and work, so even if she appears big and black she's just a clown with fur..

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The old water mill and our little house attached
That‘s us without our little son
We appreciate community
The little ones exploring
Our fury clown
Your space if you want
Simple & rustic | The interior of the tiny house
Cozy wood stove in the tiny house
The tiny house needs some more paint..
We love to garden
DIY
Still life in our garden
Calm & peaceful | Morning view over the fields
Let‘s go for a walk and enjoy surrounding nature‘s beauty together
Greeen!


Host ref number: 912189645256