I need a personal assistant to accompany me and travel Portugal

Country

Portugal

updated  

Favourited 88 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    60

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, my name is Lurdes and I'm 46 years old. I have a neuromuscular disease, myopathy, since the age of 22. It is a disease of slow progression, since the diagnosis I use ventilator, respiratory system. Despite this "prop" ☺️ I was able to enjoy a life called normal.
    I was a childhood educator, I exercised the profession using the ventilator as a backpack, I've never had any complexes and this time was quite fun.
    Now, I'm moving in a wheelchair; an ornament was not enough for me 😁.
    With my limitations, I continue with an independent life, I only need support in some activities that I can not do. I live in Mindelo, where, I have support but, I want to spend a few days at my parents' house for a family moment, they are already old to help me so, I need a personal assistant to accompany me and support me.

    The family home is located in a rural area, on a farm, with organic farming and much more to explore. Is located at 17km from Vila Nova de Foz Côa and 23km from the Douro River. It is a region with many tourist attractions such as the Archeology of the Côa Valley, historical villages, excellent gastronomy including wines from the Douro region and nature with different typologies. It is a beautiful and quiet place, ideal for rest, meditate and relaxing.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    No doubt you will have a different experience with me and I hope you will accept my challenge without fear ☺️

    You will have the opportunity to know two very different and beautiful regions of Portugal.

    Besides the nature and the calm that surrounds the house of my parents, you can still enjoy the beach in Mindelo, Vila do Conde, my house is 200m away and the surrounding area, including the beautiful city of Porto.

    During the family holidays we speak French. Usually they are between the months of July and August.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for a versatile person who likes new challenges to give me support in activities that I can not do, at home, on a tour and in the trips.

    You don't need to be experienced in dealing with people with physical disabilities, you just need to be in excellent physical shape and I'll tell you how to act.

    During my stay at my parents' home I need help with my daily routine, I will be happy to describe in detail what needs to be done. I'm a vegetarian, I prefer someone who likes to cook vegetarian meals or conform to.

    Accompany on walks to help me drive the manual wheelchair.

    I need someone with driver's license to drive my car and accompany me on longer journeys, from my house to the family house it's 200 km, or for any other leisure activities.


    Update

    I do not spend all the time on travel, so, I am receptive to workawayers contacts with skills related to art or professionals of motor rehabilitation, that are vegetarians and know how to cook ☺️ to help me in these areas.
    In exchange you can practice the Portuguese language, enjoy pleasant walks by the sea and much more to explore.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Portuguese, French and a bit of English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a private room and you will share the remaining accommodations.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Surely we will make many tours and know some beautiful corners of Portugal.

    The airport Francisco Sá Carneiro it's 17 km away, and you can still enjoy the beautiful city of Porto, it's 25 km.

    The line of Metro Porto's goes by Mindelo.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours/day, 5days/week

Fun days spent with Amanda, workawayer.
A day in the park of the city of Porto.
Galo de Barcelos, and me :- ) in Barcelos , symbol of Portugal (Cock of Barcelos)
Mindelo beach
River and sea in Vila do Conde
With my friend in Vila do Conde
Christmas family vacation, with Gabriella, workawayer.
One of the pleasant walks along the beach with Dominique, workawayer, in the month of August.
Vineyard
My village, Relva, Mêda, Guarda.
Flowering almond trees in February / March Amendoeiras em flor in Vila Nova de Foz Côa
Organic farming
Family home
Me and a personal assistant in family home.




Host ref number: 893272296914