Join us building our new home in the forest / lake district between Berlin and the Baltic Sea in Germany

updated
Country

Germany

Favourited 58 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/06/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    163

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of seven – Koran (2017), Tonda (2016), Jonna (2008), Loes (2006), Runi (1982), Niels (1977) and Dagmar (1976).

    It’s essential for us not to live by the clock but according to our own rhythm. Our children don’t go to school and we don’t have jobs outside, so we have time for each other to live and learn together.

    We build deer skin drums and give drum building workshops.

    Last summer (2018) we have moved into a former forestry workers' home surrounded by beautiful forest and with a spring and creek right behind it. There are many clear lakes nearby. Here we want to create a place where all living beings can feel at home and we feel at ease with everything we are doing.

    We will be sculpting the old timber frame house and the brick outbuildings using various building techniques (cob, wood/round wood, earth bags, light earth). We build our own rocket stoves and some of our wooden furniture.

    The fruit and vegetable garden will be planted with a variety of mixed cultures and the soil covered with a mulch layer. We want to make it a paradise for insects, birds, lizards, hedgehogs and other animals.

    Modern civilization has cut us off from the living earth. We want to revive traditional knowledge concerning hunting, fishing, butchering, preserving food, making tools, clothes etc. as well as extend our modern skills in order to become more independent off the mass supply.
    We are glad with every guest who shares his/her knowledge with us or is enthusiastic about digging for traditional skills together with us.

    We are trying to find out how to best nourish ourselves. It's a long story, and 'traditional food' and 'paleo diet' are only some keywords.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn a lot about building here.
    You can experience a place where people are more human than usual, and the usual pressure of society doesn't have much hold. We hope that you will find more of yourself here. (And that you will help us find more or ourselves.)

  • Help

    Help

    We’ve got a lot to do :-) (see above)
    Everything we do is easier and more fun to do with more people, so we welcome help with everything we do.
    We are more interested in connecting with people than their workforce.
    As of April 2019, different building projects are going on at once (not only because that's the way Niels works, but also because the outbuilding has started to collapse earlier than expected).
    You'll enjoy your stay with us most, if you like some of the following:
    - building / renovating
    - deconstruction
    - preparing food
    - gardening
    - spending time with children
    - more building
    - other types of building
    - swimming in lakes
    - being among trees
    - laughing, singing, dancing, crying, shouting

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, Dutch

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have improvised guest rooms, and provide bedding. Bathrooms and kitchen are shared.
    We have (wood-burning) masonry stoves. Water for showering / bathing needs to be heated by firing a stove.
    We will provide organic food. All the meat we consume comes from wild animals (mainly deer and wild boar). We also enjoy vegetarian food.
    Internet can be accessed via lan connection or using our guest computer. There's no wifi.

    IMPORTANT: We can't stand the smell of deodorant or perfume or the like. Don't wear it at our place!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a train station in Neustrelitz (8km) where we can pick you up or from where you can take the bus to us (bus stop 300m). Neustrelitz has a direct connection to Berlin.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    No set hours!!! (20 hours a week wich we will not count :-)

2019-April Earthbag building is easy and fun! Just fill a bag will earth / loam / sand ...
2019-April ... and stomp it in place!
2019-April Bringing in wood
2019-April Our new outside fireplace will be even prettier with that larch wood floor
2019-January a wintry yard
2019-January While the building site is still hibernating ...
2018 - When the back wall of the barn building still looked mostly straight (now it looks like it might collapse any moment, and we will deconstruct the building as soon as possible!)
Making a drum together. (2017)
That's us :-) (2018)
Garden waiting for us ... (2018)
Barn building to be renovated ... (2018)



Host ref number: 884923244978