Help us with our olive trees and our farm work in the Mountain of the Sierra de Gata, Spain

updated
Country

Spain

Favourited 39 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    17/09/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a spanish german couple with a three year old son. We speak spanish, german, english and french. In the beginning of 2016 we bought a piece of land around 2km outside of the village Torre de Don Miguel in a beautiful Montain Area with a lot of forest called la Sierra de Gata.
    On our farm we have around 300 olive and a lot of fruit trees. Beside working with the olive trees for produce and sell our own olive oil we are changing a old construction into an ecologic living house by using clay, wood and other natural materials.

    Furthermore our garden and the fruit trees, such as apples, pears, kakis, pomegranate, oranges, mandarines, limones, almonds, peaches and much more need a lot of attention.

    We are producing handcraft. So Amaranta design and sew clothes for babies and kids during I am using wood mainly from olive for create knifes, kitchen boards, lamps and sculptures.

    So we try to find a ballance by working with the trees, constructing our dream place and create our handcrafts.

    We have electricity from our solar panels and water from our spring. We don't have a bathroom yet so we take the shower outside in the summer and have a open sky bath tub over a fire place for the winter months. Our Toilet is a dry toilet. We have three dogs and some chickens. Fresh eggs we get from the chickens and milk and cheese from the goats of our friends and neighbors.

    So our live is basic but very beautiful.


    We would be very glad if you like to help us. You should doing well with kids and be not afraid about dogs, chickens, insects and the living in the landscape. We are happy to show you the area and spend nice evenings outside by watching the incredible stars. We also like to have our family live and for this we are shurly not angry if you are independent and like to explore the sites by your self.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Help

    Help

    We need help for around 5 hours a day/5 days a week (according to you flexible). The kind of work depends mainly of the season.
    So in the late summer we need to prepare the olive trees for harvesting and working with the clay. In Autum we are taking the olives and press the Oil. In the winter months we are working with the land by cutting the fruit and olive trees and cleaning the land. We need to "clean" the area by take out wild plants and we are planting oaks and other trees. Beside this, we need all the year help in the construction and the garden.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn with us about the ecoligic work and live with the trees. Based on the idea to construct with natural materials you will have an overview about the different methods of bioconstruction. Also about ecologic gardening you can learn with us. We are shurely not experts in all those things but we made our experiences hand will make hopefully nice experiences with you together.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    spanish, german, english, french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We cook moustly (lets say arround 90 percent) vegetarian but we respect all kinds of live styles. We offer you food and a sleeping place in our caravan. Alternatively you can also sleep in a tent with a very comfortable mattress. We also have enough space for your own caravan/van or a youth hostel in the village. If you like, you can use one of our bicycles for come to the village or explore the beautiful area.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is a short walk from our place to come to the village. From there a bus is going to the biger towns and cities. The Sierra de Gata is directly on the border to Portugal. The villages in the sierra are very nice to explore and study old ways of constructing or just enjoy a walk. Like you can see here in workaway there are quiet a lot of different projects here in the area. So if you are interested you can also visit our friends and neighbors and see different projects or live forms.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album






Host ref number: 879351742895