Come and enjoy this beautiful and relaxing place in Monchique, Portugal

updated
Country

Portugal

Favourited 19 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, I am Mark, Dutch but living close to Monchique. 2 years ago I started doing workaway myself in order to find a place where I felt home. I had 3 workaway experiences in Portugal which I liked all a lot. Finally, I ended up in Monchique which I fell in love with. After settling down for 2 years and searching for the right land, I recently bought a ruin with a hectare of land. This place I want to convert into a small paradise. I am not living on the land I bought but in a house close-by. This place has a beautiful garden which also need maintenance, as well as the vegetables garden. I am a conceptual artist and have experience in the commercial sector as well as cultural sector. The last year I helped people with gardening and construction work, which I like a lot. I don't have education in the latter, but believe in learning by doing and sharing knowledge and experiences.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gartenarbeit
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hausarbeiten

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I believe Monchique is a beautiful, relaxing place. I am not a workshop space or have an expertise in a specific thing. I am an allrounder and definitely hope to learn from you too. I am Dutch but speak Spanish, English, German on a good level and a bit of French. Currently I am learning Portuguese. If you are a surfer or want to learn surfing, we can go to the beach together if there is time as I want to learn it as well.

  • Help

    Help

    There is both light and "heavy" work to do. Maintaining the current garden etc. and on the other side the more heavy work of cleaning a forrest. I think about 20/25 hours of work a week and schedule that flexible, so you have enough time to go on longer trips if you like.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch, German, English, Spanish, Portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A room with double bed, with shared bath room, kitchen and living room. There is lot of space in the garden as well. Its a simple but beautiful home and the view and the garden is complete luxury.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On 20 min there is a bus stop but the schedule is a bit poor. The best would be if you have your own transportation and if not you should not mind to stay a bit around the house too. Of course I also make often trips and visits, which you are happy to join, but cannot go making sightseeing tours. If you have questions, please ask.
    I am not vegetarian myself, but am happy to adapt if somebody is. I don't smoke but you can outside ;-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 851561823997