We need help with a huge variety of projects: ferro-cement tanks for rainwater harvesting, french drains, tree planting, interior lime plastering in Exideuil-sur-Vienne, France

Country

France

Favourited 10 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/11/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    A couple of years ago we decided to move to France and build a strawbale house from scratch, with no experience. It has been a blast, with the help of some friends our house is now up and now we are turning our attentions to the interior, off grid energy and water systems, lime plastering and various garden projects as we begin to flesh out our permaculture plan for the 4 acres surrounding the house.

    We are looking for either an individual or couple who are happy to stay in our small caravan, which was our home last winter. It has a wood-burning stove and a gas hob. Our facilities are very basic, at the time of writing (10/10/18) we have an outdoor compost toilet (this is the next project - building an indoor one) and one shower in the caravan which we share. Also, the only cooking facilities are in the caravan, so again, we'll share the caravan space to some extent.

    We need help with a huge variety of projects, including but not limited to: ferro-cement tanks for rainwater harvesting, french drains, tree planting, interior lime plastering, interior bamboo walls, off grid energy (solar and wind), construction of a small toilet block ahead of future courses we plan to run etc.

    Any practical skills you could bring would be massively appreciated, however, those without any are welcome to contact us, after all, we built the house with zero experience! 4-5 hours a day 5 days a week would be great. We have bikes you can borrow and live in a quaint French village with a population of 1200 people, the river Vienne lazily flowing past and delightful countryside wherever you look.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get hands on experience with a wide variety of tools and techniques, whats more, we'll be learning together, because everything is new for us as well!

  • Help

    Help

    We would like someone to stay with us over the Christmas period for around a month. The next projects are: ferro cement tanks construction for rainwater harvesting, french drain construction to drain the tyre-pillar foundations and interior bamboo wattle and daub walls. Also tyre foundations for a decking surrounding the house and building of said decking.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French (conversational)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Caravan with a double bed and a woodburner. The kitchen and shower will be shared with the hosts Dan and Flee for now, but other than that, the caravan is yours! It's super warm with the stove going, but it will go out in the night and you will feel chilly, so make sure you bring a good sleeping bag! We have heaps of blankets you can borrow too!

    We will share cooking duties with our workaways. We are both vegetarian and pretty much vegan. We have a small oven above the wood stove and a hob in the caravan but are working on the next stage, a kitchen!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 816513931475