Urgent! Couple required asap for varied opportunity in friendly, sociable household in central Brittany, France

updated
Country

France

Favourited 177 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    44  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    12/08/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    351

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!

    We have a workaway opportunity for a couple from around 7th August for around 2 weeks or so.

    We are Philippa & Allan. We are a British couple in our mid fifties who moved to France 8 years ago, to what was previously our holiday home as we loved the area so much. We live in central Brittany, in France, near to the beautiful Medieval town of Josselin.

    We have hosted workawayers for the past 6 years. It's been a great experience & we've met some fab people from all over the globe and have kept in touch with several :-)

    We are both friendly, sociable, fun-loving people and really enjoy the life here, although we are both avid travellers and 'home exchangers' too. We are semi-retired and work from home. We run a children's book business, plus Philippa is in a drama group and loves arty crafty stuff. Allan played rugby and canoed competitively for many years and loves watching all kinds of sport.

    We are in a village location, which has some basic amenities including a bakery, bar etc. However, there is no public transport in the village itself, so workawayers who have their own transport is a big bonus.

    We will have our friendly black lab and our cuddly cat at home, so cannot accept people with pet allergies. Sorry, but we cannot cater for vegetarians/vegans.

    The area itself is lovely. Beautiful villages and towns to explore, great woodland walks and countryside. One of our favourite spots is the Lac au Duc, less than 15 minutes away where there's a range of watersports available. There's also a beautiful 9 hole golf course nearby and we have clubs if you wish to play, and we also have a couple of bikes available.

    Come and have some fun in beautiful central Brittany :-))

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a sociable, responsible couple to help us for a a couple of weeks from around 7th August.

    We like practically minded workawayers who don't mind getting 'stuck in', can use their own initiative and have a 'Can Do' attitude in helping unsupervised. Enthusiasm more important than experience, as long as you are eager to learn! We always appreciate help with general chores too :-) Prefer aged 21+

    Looking for one or two friendly and practical Workawayers. Tasks will be varied, but may include help in the house, cleaning, animal care, gardening, weeding, painting outdoors and indoors and furniture, general maintenance and repairs etc. We need help with our B&B room that we run in the Summer season There's always lots to sort and various tasks to do, so looking for a practically minded couple to help us.

    We speak English at home and whilst we are happy to host practical workawayers whose native language is not English and who wish to have the opportunity to practise their English language skills, we would like people who have a good level of English.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Brittany is a great location with lots of heritage and lovely countryside. Lots to do. We can take you out and about or there are cheap buses for day trips to Vannes etc. We often have social events at home, and on a Sunday we enjoy browsing the local 'brocante' events where you never know what treasures you are going to find!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Comfortable private room in our spacious farmhouse with use of bathroom (mainly your private use)
    We have all the usual stuff like UK TV and Wifi. We have a large garden and live in a village location. We have bikes you can use.
    We look forward to hearing from you!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are ideally looking for mature, responsible workawayers aged 21+ who have previous work experience.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day, 5 days a week (flexible)

My Photo Album
























Host ref number: 812185957478