Different options in the countryside in Mallorca, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 59 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/06/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1096

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a British couple living in the countryside in Mallorca with our 18-month-old daughter Lía, 2 dogs Luna & Rusty and a few chickens. The house where we live was a stone cow shed and we have spent the last 3 or so years turning it into our home, largely with our own hands and learning along the way. It is a passive solar, off-grid house mostly built with sustainable materials such as lime instead of concrete.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak Spanish and English and Luke speaks good French, Tracy knows basic French.
    Peaceful and relaxed living in a very quiet rural part of Mallorca.
    You can also come for visits to the city of Palma on days when we are going in, or we will take you somewhere on the island at least once a week to visit something new if you don't have your own car.

    Luke is a Personal Trainer and also a Wim Hof Method Instructor and Nutritional Coach so can share his knowledge in these fields.
    Tracy is a Yoga Teacher and Undisturbed Birth Advocate. She gave birth to Lía at home in the water with midwives present but almost completely unassisted. She is happy to share her knowledge and experience in this area.

    We also love to talk about the different ways in which we are bringing up Lia, trying to be as respectful as possible and giving her lot's of freedom to develop her own spirit and find her feet in this world!

    Luke can talk extensively about off-grid living, permaculture, health in general and many other topics.

  • Help

    Help

    We are flexible, there is always stuff needing done so we are open, tell us about yourself and maybe we can work something out!

    UPDATE SEPTEMBER 2018: THE MAIN STUFF WE NEED HELP WITH RIGHT NOW IS COOKING AND PLAYING WITH LIA!

    You might be:
    - A couple
    - A single
    - A parent with a small child (we could rotate childcare while the other gets things done!)
    - A carpenter / joiner (amateur will do!)
    - A handyman
    - Someone good or keen with household tasks, cooking and baby
    - Someone good or keen in the garden / growing vegetables
    - Someone with a bit of "building" knowledge
    . Someone who ticks at least one of the above boxes plus can give a decent massage maybe 10 minutes a day!
    - Other (please tell us what you can do!)

    If you are a couple, one could provide a bit of domestic help with cooking, general housekeeping and entertaining baby, and the other could help with gardening, carpentry or other outdoors tasks.

    VEG GARDEN
    Our veg garden is on the go, it's good to have some help from time to time to plant a few more things or do some harvesting or maintenance.

    COOKING
    We are not looking for a Michelin chef or even a chef, we would like someone who enjoys cooking simple nutritious meals. We are omnivores and our diet is almost completely gluten free and organic. We are happy to eat vegetarian meals too but do like to include meat in our diets at least every couple of days. If you are offering us mostly other types of help (or are really not competent in the kitchen) then we would just ask you to contribute to mealtimes as another family member so we would all do a bit, so this might include a bit of cooking on your days off, just as we all have to cook on our days off, but equally Luke or I may cook for you at other times.

    We can offer suggestions and recipes of dishes we usually like to cook, so you don't have to bring a whole varied repertoire but we are also super open to you bringing in your own ideas.

    HOUSEKEEPING
    Just a bit of basic housework like sweeping the floor which basically needs a quick sweep every day due to country living with dogs, and some basic tidying up, keeping the kitchen clean and tidy as you cook, keeping your own bathroom clean and leaving it clean when you go, helping wth laundry. Again, depending on what other help you are offering us, you may not need to do too much domestic stuff, and if you hate a certain task, just tell us!

    BABY CARE
    Lia likes to have company and attention! She is pretty easy to entertain, she warms to new people easily and loves to be outside, she will take you by the hand and guide you to where she wants to go, asking you to pick her up when she feels like it and pointing to communicate where she wants to go! She is a lot of fun.
    You will never be left alone in the house with her, nor do you need to know anything about baby care, just be gentle and loving and playful with her and make sure she is safe.

    ANIMAL CARE
    This pretty much just entails feeding the dogs which is easy and only once a day, and making sure that they have water in their bowl inside and out. They will appreciate a walk once a day in the area but this is not essential as they have a big field to run around in. Help with looking after the chickens and collecting the eggs is also appreciated.

    We are a very healthy household so NON SMOKERS ONLY PLEASE.

    We pay for all the food that we eat at home but if we go out to a restaurant, you are welcome to join us but we ask you to pay for what you order, or you are welcome to stay home and eat from what we have bought in. Equally if we take you to do some tourism and there are tickets to pay, please pay your own, these trips will always be optional and mostly we would be doing them for your benefit so you can choose something that's free if you want.

    In terms of structure, we are pretty relaxed, what seems to work best for us is to have certain whole days a week "off" where maybe we go to Palma or to the beach and no one does any work as such, and we will try to take you somewhere of interest at least one day. On days when we are at the finca it's great of you can be available most of the day to help with Lia or prepare meals... it sounds like a lot of hours but it's all pretty laid back!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our house, as we mentioned previously has been a labour of love over the last few years while we have been converting the stone cow shed into our home.

    The electricity is completely solar and Luke put the system together himself (he would be glad to talk you through it if you are interested).

    We have composting toilets. The system is very basic - a wooden box with a regular toilet seat and inside, a bucket with sawdust. The bucket gets emptied every few days into a bigger barrel and each barrel gets left for a year and is then perfect compost for spreading on our trees. This system means zero water waste and converting our own human waste into fertility for our land rather than building a septic tank to fill up with our waste and then getting a truck to come and take that away periodically to pollute another area!
    We have an ensuite bathroom in our bedroom so you can use the small guest bathroom to yourselves, with shower and hot water.

    Your bedroom is up a space-saving staircase (narrow and steep!) on the mezzanine level with a double bed (135cm). This space is an ongoing project and we use it for storing lots of personal belongings in boxes and suitcases so it's a bit cluttered. The house is not completely finished so there is still no wall built which means that the bedroom is open to the main living area (kitchen, dining room and living room in one open space with high ceilings). You can't really be seen from downstairs when you are upstairs in the bed area but of course you can be heard and you can hear us, but we are really quiet, apart from Lía who can occasionally be loud! But she is not a baby who cries a lot. Because of the lack of walls, the upstairs space is not suitable for small children (or sleepwalkers!).

    Tracy goes to bed with Lía around 21:00 and Luke usually stays up longer reading or watching a movie but uses his headphones for this. As your room is above our bedroom we ask for you to be quiet during sleeping hours and not walk around much upstairs. (We also ask for quiet during the day when baby is sleeping which is usually around 13:00-16:00.

    The house is in the middle of a field. There is plenty outdoor space and hammocks.
    There is an outdoor gym Luke built which you are welcome to use to improve your pull-up skills!

    We have no TV but do have WIFI.

    Please see below about the location of the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The house is quite remote, not within comfortable walking distance of any villages . The closest village (Pina) is 5km away and it doesn't really have many amenities! The next closest villages are Algaida and Montuiri and they have a few cafés, small supermarket shops and so on.

    Our house is practically smack bang in the middle of the island so living will feel more rural than coastal. Luke goes to Palma several times a week so you can catch a ride with him and see the city if you wish. Public transport is not very efficient in these areas so if you don't have your own car you would be depending on us to get anywhere, which works fine if you are happy being at home quite a lot or popping in and out of Palma with Luke for a couple of hours at a time.

    We are looking forward to hosting you!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our lovely little self built, off grid, passive solar home.
Our lovely terrace where you can relax during the heat of the day.
Your bedroom while you stay with us.





Host ref number: 778713315984