Help during the summer in our Chateau near Avignon, France

Country

France

Favourited 209 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/06/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    386

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Costas is Greek a Graduate of Newcastle University in Marine Engineering and currently retired .Alison is British and a dentist also a graduate of Newcastle University, currently non practising but running her business in the UK. remotely . We are both divorced from our previous spouses and have 5 adult children between us who occasionally visit with their friends .They all live in London. We bought this almost abandoned chateau as a 'coup de coeur" as it is so beautiful and magical not realising the amount of work to restore and maintain.
    We have 3 cottages in the garden so we are especially looking for someone to help with keeping them clean and to keep the areas such as around the pool and the kitchen clean and tidy. We have a full time cleaner but its too much for her and Alison during the summer.when we have guests. Alison is a keen gardener and has reclaimed the very overgrown gardening even though we have lovely Celine who helps there is still more to do. Ideally we want enthusiastic help and in return Alison cooks !
    We are also looking for someone with handyman/ building/plastering or painting skills even mending stone walls and re pointing as the old walls need some attention and someone not shy of gardening and clearing overgrown areas. Its a fantastic garden but 6 years of neglect before we came here has taken its toll. We can take 3 workaways at a time Everyone can have their own room and own bathroom and we provide 3 delicious meals daily with a strong emphasis on local ingredients.
    It is a great area for walking, cycling ( near Mont Ventoux for those who want a challenge ) In May we are hosting a cookery course here called A taste of Provence . We also occasionally host yoga holidays where Alison cooks to bring in much needed funds to support the ongoing renovation of this wonderful building. its a labour of love but we defy anyone not to fall under its spell ! There s actually lots to do in free time including sunbathing and swimming in the pool ! if you can hop on buses nearby Uzes is rather lovely - quintessential charming French market town and of course Avignon has the Palais des Papes and the famous bridge. Arles is only an hour away and well worth a visit culturally and those enjoying outdoors you can kayak under Pont du Gard, lots of great walking and cycling - Mont Ventoux for the fitter ones - and otherwise a very lovely heated pool in which to cool off !
    come and see ............

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are located in the Rhones Valley with many vineyards cultural and historic cities around us . Uzes, Avignon, Arles , St Remy , Les Beaux , Pont de Gard , Montpellier , Nimes , Marseille just to name few strong attraction places for cultural learning etc . Fascinating to stay in a genuine 16th century castle . The old village is very beautiful and tranquil. Avignon is 20 minutes away by car or bus and has the Palais des Papes and numerous galleries and places of historical interest. our workdays have lots of time to explore and all have loved the variety of cultural places and the outstanding natural beauty of this wonderful area. In the village noone speaks English so its a great opportunity to learn French !!!

  • Help

    Help

    gardening - clearing overgrown areas

    joinery and repairs. The chateau has old window frames which need adjusting and painting and some window sills are rotten and need replacing. We have a cottage which has recently had a new roof but needs plaster boards and skimming on the ceiling. we provide all materials and tools but just need some help from someone who knows what they are doing :))



    general tidying up, sweeping around the pool, taking out rubbish

    help with marketing website design etc as we run courses and rent the place but haven't a clue about how to market it

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English ,French, Greek .Italian .

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Will be residing either within the chateau or in one of the external independent cottages within the chateau grounds depending on whether we have guests. workaways have their own room with private bathroom regardless. We will provide 3 home cooked meals a day - we hold cookery courses here so the food is generally good :)) - all locally sourced and can adapt to dietary requirements , veggie etc

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Ideally helpers should have a driving license so they can either hire a car for maximum freedom of movement .Please advise your driving experience . Kayaking at Pont du Gard Cycling Mont Ventoux

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 766394174853