Help us out at our animal rescue in the back waters of New Zealand in the North Island

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 238 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/05/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    189

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a self-funded animal rescue for abandoned, neglected animals. There are four rescue horses here in various stages of training. All traumatized in one way or another. There are five parrots, 3 rescues. 11 permanent rescue cats and a cattery with a variety of cats in. We have 2 rescue dogs and a rescued peacock. We rescue hens from the egg farm on a regular basis. These are fragile rescues needing lots of tlc. We are on 16 acres in the backwaters (middle of nowhere) of New Zealand in the North Island. 3 acres are in native New Zealand bush. We are a close drive to beaches and walks. Everything is a short drive away. There are no buses available so you will need a car. If you want rural we are the ones. We have bee hives up the hill maintained by an outside party.
    We use no sprays as we want to encourage nature to do her thing. We have many native birds and lizards and frogs here. We have 3 acres of untouched native bush that has wildlife throughout. This means a lot of weeding all year round. Trying to keep on top of weeding is a never ending battle.
    Be prepared to get animal slobber and hair on you, and don’t be afraid to get dirty and muck in on the jobs needing doing.
    We often have fences, enclosures, and areas to maintain or repair. We have horses to rehabilitate. Life is never dull as we do not know from one day to the next what or how a rescue will come to us, or what will be happening with our rescues.
    Life is never dull.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I work all my animals through positive reinforcement training. You will learn an invaluable skill for working with all animals. I'm a vet nurse and have many skills I would love to share with Workaway volunteers.
    We are also an artistic family and love sharing our skills.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help that ranges from grooming rescue horses to working on the land fixing fences, clearing paddocks, to help to fix roofs on shed, petting and caring for rescue cats/kittens, gardening. There is always a wide variety of things to be done. Generally you need to be physically able to help with animal care and maintaining the property. It’s not the place for a bad back. There are many jobs requiring lifting, pulling and straining.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a lovely caravan that has the option of a double bed that is permanent at one end of it and a single at the other which is part of the dining area. There is a small kitchen for small snacks and such if needed and bathroom facilities are with in the house. It is situated away from the house for everyone's privacy.
    Meals are expected to be eaten with us, work away volunteers can cook from time to time. We try to work as a team with everything. Sometimes we divide to conquer jobs and other times we work together to get a big job done.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are finding we need help with the land and the animals. As a volunteer, you may be helping teach a horse to go in a horse box or to be backed for riding. You might be helping raise orphaned kittens, or looking after abandoned older cats. You might be fixing fences or clearing gorse. You might be building a cattery climbing wall, or assisting in our desexing program for farm cats. There is always a mountain of weeds to be pulled up, and general gardening. Our internet is very limited so on line movies and such are unavailable. We have a set amount to last the month whe it’s gone we have no communications.
    There are always free hours in the day as we all need to rest.
    You will need your own transport. As you can then explore our beautiful area.
    We would prefer non smokers.
    Life is never boring here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 743132264932