Looking to build further on our piece of land, living off the grid about 43 kms outside of Marrakesh in a dirt home with solar power

Country

Morocco

Favourited 227 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/07/2019

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a multinational couple, He is from Morocco(but has spent 17 years in the U.S.) and she is from Kentucky. We decided to leave the U.S. and live off the grid and we think you will like what we've done. We live about 43 kilometers outside of Marrakesh in a dirt home with solar power and are looking to build further on our piece of land. Come visit us and see the local village market, the olive press, and more! If you have ever wanted advice on how to escape the grind and live the good life in the country we look forward to meeting you and exchanging ideas.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn tradition and cooking by interacting with natives and also Moroccan building techniques.

  • Help

    Help

    We have many projects! We would like to finish a guest house, plastering with dirt and lime, and more. We welcome everyone who's not afraid of getting dirty to come assist and learn traditional building techniques in Morocco. Many of our projects are novice level as well. If interested please write us and we'll talk from there! :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Arabic, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A place to sleep in our guest room or the living room plus meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a beautiful view of the Atlas Mountains, local village markets, and are very close to Marrakesh (43 kilometers -11 dirham bus ride from our property(which is about 1 euro)). We can also advise you what to see in Marrakesh and also how things are priced locally so that you are less likely to get taken advantage of in the market. We look forward to your help, friendship, and a cultural exchange with you. We hope to hear from you soon!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5/day (max 25 hours)

This is the weekly Souk, (the market) in Amizmiz, 7 kilometers from us. This is where vendors from around the area come to sell fresh produce, fabrics, meat and other goods. There are no grocery stores around, this is it.
Our unfinished Bathroom with a rainwater shower. One of the projects we need help finishing.
Our Living Room.
The Sunrise.
Sassy and the Lil guy enjoying the view.
Here we are, Mostafa and Dina
Our entrance way.
Our bedroom.
This is our view of the neighboring olive trees.
This is the dam about 15 minutes from our house.
Our finished roof.
Our house under construction.
This is our dirt house being built.












Host ref number: 742845141564