Experience life in an italian family, in Toscana, in the countryside near Livorno and Pisa, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 122 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/11/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    370

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an italian family, we live in Toscana, in the countryside near Livorno and Pisa. It is a nice and interesting place: many turists come all over the year to visit our region. The sea is near, as well as places of historical and artistic significance, like Firenze and Pisa.
    I work as a teacher in a primary school, and my husband works as a surveyor in Livorno. Our two doughters aged 16 and 13 study english and spanish.
    Of course some patience is required with teenagers, that sometimes can be a little unpleasant!
    Anyway our doughters are usually quite nice, and interested to people. Claudia, the younger, will want to teach you italian at all costs!
    We usually prefer healthy food, and if you are vegetarian, vegan or suffer allergies, we can provide for meals that can be good for you.
    In our opinion spending time with workawayers is a very motivating way to practice languages!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    We ask for spirit of cooperation in the daily management. We would like to start with short experiences (7-10 days)
    We usually let workawayers organise their work in autonomy. According with the period, you could be asked to help with the olives harvesting, or with the trees pruning.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My husband and I would like to have cultural exchanges with people from other countries, also to give the opportunity to our two doughters, aged 16 and 13, to practice languages and have friends abroad. I'm a school teacher, I can help you if you are interested in learning italian. We like painting and my husband likes engraving.
    We started the Workaway experience because we really enjoy meeting people from different countries and situations, and we think that this is a very effective way to learn!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    italian, english, french, spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have got a bedroom where you can stay. It is not going to be of your exclusive use because it is a room where we study or work on the computer during the day. The wifi connection is limited.
    We like workawayers to share our family life. You'll be expected to make your bed everyday, keep clean and not eat upstairs. Thank you!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in an old farmhouse, where two other families live, but we are not just neightbours, we are friends and often do things together. From our house to town it is possible to use public transport, but there are many few buses during the day. Having a car is the best way to move to town, however we can manage to take you and pick you up according with our working hours.
    For example we can leave you to the train station in Livorno, and from there you can get trains to Pisa (15 minutes), Lucca (40 minutes) and Florence (1 hour); also visiting Livorno can be a nice experience. The seafront of Livorno is amazing, or you can have a walk in the central market and in the town center.
    In our free time we will be pleased to go along with you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

With Johanne, from Holland, november 2017
olives harvest, by Caroline, from California, october 2017
By the sea, with Aisha, from USA. May 2018
With Meredith, from New York, june 2018
Our friends will be pleased to meet you
with Victor, workawayer from Argentina
with Amanda, our very first workawayer, from UK, in september 2016
We like cooking










Host ref number: 716195166751