Outdoor family looking for help shepherding 4 active kids in the forests, lakes and mountains of beautiful British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 272 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an active family with four young kids ages 7, 6, 4 and 1, living in Chilliwack BC, in the beautiful Fraser Valley, one hour drive from Vancouver. We like to be outside hiking, kayaking, going for walks by the river, mountain biking or just playing in the yard.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a young woman to help manage a busy household, taking care of four kids, cleaning and food prep for three to five weeks at a time. I work part time and my wife is a full time mom, so childcare should not be onerous. We are also very active and would appreciate an extra caregiver around while on day trips to the many lakes, rivers and mountain destinations nearby. Babysitting would be expected so that my wife and I can get out in the kayak or hiking on our own, but we will also make sure you have time to enjoy yourself and we love touring people around our area. You must be capable of looking after 3 active boys and a baby, reasonably fit and willing to occasionally hike in the rain.

    We are also heavily involved building hiking and biking trails in our local community. There will be ample opportunity to contribute your shovel and rake skills if you are interested in being involved in trailbuilding.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Guests will have their own room and bathroom in a walkout basement with a beautiful view.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live on the edge of Chilliwack bordering farmland, near a beautiful forest. Our backyard and deck overlook the Chehalis range of the Coastal Mountains. Winters in the Fraser Valley are mild and wet, with temperatures between 10 and -5 degrees Celsius. Spring is warm and rainy with bursts of gorgeous sunshine. Summer and Fall are warm and lovely.

    Chilliwack is a beautiful rural area one hour drive from Vancouver. There are lakes and rivers and mountains in every direction. Our house is within easy biking distance of the Fraser River.

    There is public transport available to and from Vancouver for around $10 if you book online.

    We are a fun family that enjoy the outdoors, good food and good music. Our boys are occasionally crazy, but in a good way.

    Our house is big enough that you can retreat to the basement or the back yard and spend time on your own when you wish.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

A trip to Vancouver Island.
Workawayer doing trail maintenance.
The community forest where we are building trails.
kayaking on the Fraser River
crazy in a good way















Host ref number: 711313547369