Experience living and working in the beautiful West Coast of Scotland. Help with gardening, and general upkeep.

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 93 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/04/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    2893

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello Workaways and thank you for taking the time to read all about us and our home.

    My name is Lorna and I live with my partner Sandra on her elderly Mothers Croft just outside the picturesque village of Glenelg. Apart from being twinned with Mars, Glenelg has an award winning pub/hotel, historical buildIngs called ‘’The Brochs” all situated on the beautiful West coast of Scotland on the mainland just beside the Isle of Skye, 2hrs drive from Inverness and Fort William.

    Sandra and I are both working musicians, and have left the city life to come and help Sandra's Mum, a retired midwife and district Nurse, at her family home. We have bought a 36ft static caravan that we’re renting out as holiday accommodation and would like help making the garden around it looking nicer.

    We live amongst stunning landscape here, mountains, rivers with the pub and shop 5 miles away in the village of Glenelg. We are very close to the beautiful pictish Brochs with plenty of History and Lots of stunning walks if you’re into hiking and nature.

    We are looking for people who are either a couple, two friends traveling or a single workaway.

    We are easy going folk who have traveled a lot and love meeting new friends. We’re looking for nice, hardworking friendly folk who are looking to experience highland life and being part of the family. Glenelg has a lot of woofers and workaways around the village so there are always social gatherings going on as well.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Whilst you're with us, you will get to see what living in a Highland community has to offer. Expect to see lots of wildlife, cows and sheep hanging out as this is a crofting area.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for volunteers who have experience in some, or all of these areas. Gardening, landscaping. Cooking, cleaning help with housework. Generally to put some TLC back into the main Croft house and surrounding area. So if that's something you can offer then we’d love to hear from you. Bicycles available for trips to the seaside or village (shop and pub), local bus service for journeys further afield.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in a two bed caravan situated by the main house. The cosy caravan does has electricity, we all have full access to the main house, Kitchen, sitting room, shower/toilet, utility room which has a washing machine, tumble dryer and sink.

    There is Wifi but I'll be honest, it's not the best and can be weather dependant due to the fact we're in between two big mountains, but were are in the process of getting better Wifi so hopefully by the time you arrive this won't be an issue. The pub and the community hall and cafe in the village all have great wifi as well as providing awesome food, coffee and beers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is so much to see and do around the area and visiting Isle of Skye is a must.. Glenelg has the only working turntable ferry in the world.

    We can help plan and advise on where to go and what to see and if we have time we can show you around too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Working on our decking
Lorna & Sandra, day one decking.
View from the hillside, you can almost see the croft house in the distance.
Lorna on the left, Sandra on the right.
Lorna and Sandra's Caravan getting ready for the decking to be built.
The Croft house
One of the pictish brochs in Glenelg
This is the view from our static caravan.
The shared bathroom/shower.
The lovely little Caravan you'll be staying in. :-)
View of Isle of Skye from Glenelgs award winning pub.




Host ref number: 688116657386