Help create permaculture garden, child care and other home tasks! near Finnskogen, Norway

Country

Norway

updated  

Favourited 191 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    759

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    67.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!
    My name is Magdalena and I'm a mom living in Flisa, a little cute village in Åsnes, Norway. Close to the Finnskogen. Here I live with my baby boy (soon 1 year old) in the first floor of an old and big farmhouse, upstairs lives his grandma. Together we share this beautiful space.

    I'm a garden lover (with experience on permaculture), vegan, with a bachelor degree on nutrition. I also write a blog on my website
    After my son turns 1 year I might start working again with my catering services from home, but still unsure on what I'll be doing other than being a mom. My sons dad and I do not live together, but he is around a lot. Before our son was born we cycled with e-bikes from Norway to Portugal and we also traveled around South America; we love those kinds of adventures and to see the world, and now we would love the world to come to us :) Baby's grandma, called Frøydis is a primary school teacher working at the local school. She will love to share her home to people who would like to help around.

    We live with two dogs: Ien and Eldfi, two cats; Tessa and Pauline and two rabbits; Bunny and Slash.

    I'm not originally Norwegian, I was born and raised til I was 11 in the south of Patagonia, Argentina. If you wish to have Norwegian language exchange Frøydis will love to help you out, she's better at that than me.

    Right now there is not much of a garden, I haven't had much time to prepare for this summer, also it's been too cold outside, so anything we do in the garden now is ment to work for next season, basically mulching a lot. If you are not familiar with this you will learn :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We offer a relaxed stay with a lot of gardening as therapy, plus good healthy food, loving animals and kids. There is a pool in the property, for those hot summer days (it can get quite hot!) and the beach is at walking distance.

    I can teach you something about permaculture if you don't have much experience, also about plant based nutrition and cooking. Also you can come with us and visit some beautiful farms around that we know and use permaculture.

    If you want to learn Norwegian and/or sign language Frøydis can teach you :)

  • Help

    Help

    We welcome anyone with any type of skill, everything from the artsy to the more practical. But what will help me the most is someone who can spend time with me sometimes and help me with the baby. Which is fairly easy, since he is a very happy and fun baby to be with.

    We would like people to be open minded, solution orientated, and quite independent. In return we will offer you a private room and will provide some groceries as well (vegetarian/vegan) and a lot of free time for you to do whatever you want.

    Tasks may include:
    - Soil shoving, making fences and garden beds.
    - Cleaning and organising the barn
    - Building a garden compost bin.
    - Mowing the lawn.
    - Watching my baby while I'm doing something else,
    - Driving to the store, if you have a drivers licence.
    - General maintenance of the house
    - Painting walls and furniture
    - Help out in the kitchen.
    -preparing garden for the next season

    These are fairly easy tasks and of course if anyone feels for doing something else, ideas are welcome.

    We expect you to be working 5 hours a day, 5 days a week and it's flexible when you want to use your hours.
    We would also like to start slowly, with maybe 1 week stay and see how it goes :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Norwegian, English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a nice loft apartment on the top floor of the house. 1 double bed in private room for maybe a couple? or whoever would like to use that, a kitchen, a bathroom and a living room with a sofa bed. Also if that is not available at the time, there are also other bedrooms.

    We can accommodate up to 3 people and families too, with an extra children's room available. There is everything for babies and small children, beds, toys, clothes..etc..if we don't have it we can get it.

    We will offer you a plant based and organic box/bag with essential groceries (i.e: rolled oats, oat milk, some legumes, pasta, rice, canned tomatoes, bread, etc.) which you can use as you like. The rest you have to buy your self. We may have some meals together.Please let me know if you have some special dietary requirements so I can get you that - like gluten free products and such.

    There's a pool in the property, a trampoline and bikes you can borrow.

    I'm not a smoker but his grandma does smoke, she has her own special room for that - nowhere else inside the house is it allowed to smoke.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In the summer and autumn there is of course the forests (Finnskogen) where one can pick mushrooms, edible flowers and plenty of berries!

    My sons dad also owns another farm far into the forest of Finnskogen, where we sometimes have events. In the end of July there will be a festival going on there.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

summer
winter
pool, trampoline, old storehouse, a lot of lawn
Planning the garden!
private room in loft apartment
mushroom and wild edible plant hunt
little Ask and me
The lake nearby
festival in Finnskogen

Host ref number: 673345374716