Help needed in and around an old water mill next to the ‘Burgwald’ forest in Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 32 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/06/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Help needed in and around an old water mill right in the middle of Germany.

    At the moment the mill is home to my mother (Barbara, 60), myself (Catherina, 39) and our dogs(2), cats(5) and horses(4)... and our newest arrivals: some Indian runner ducks and chicken. I’m working as a veterinarian for dairy cattle, which means I can only work around the mill on my days off. My mother is working from home and will be there, if you have any questions... or need someone to chat and have tea with ;-)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are looking forward to meeting people from different parts of the world (and cultures) and showing you a part of ours.

    Falls jemand aus Deutschland Lust hat, mal einige Zeit bei uns zu verbringen und sich auszupowern, ist sie/er natürlich auch herzlich willkommen :-)

  • Help

    Help

    The inside of the house is mostly finished, but the mill itself and the surrounding pastures will be a “work in progress” for the next years. There are many different projects – the (future) garden, cleaning out the outbuildings, checking the mill race, optimizing the stables (fencing, concreting etc.), creating a website for our holiday flat – so there are various jobs, small ones or bigger ones, depending on weather and time available.

    So let us know in your letter, if you have any special skills … and if not ;-) : we would also welcome help with the daily chores around the house, the garden and/or in the stables.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We provide accommodation in a room of a self-contained flat. You’d have your own bathroom, which you’d only have to share, if we have friends staying over. Most of the time we would share meals, but you could also cook in your own kitchen, if you need some time to yourself ;-) There’s also WiFi. Please note: No smoking inside!
    We are looking for help from max. two volunteers (a couple or friends happy to share a room). We would like helpers to come for 2-4 weeks max - with a possible extension, if we get along well and there is enough work (especially in winter). As most of the work is going to be outside, you need to bring suitable cloths and footwear.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The mill is situated about 25km north of Marburg in the middle of Germany. Although we are right next to the ‘Burgwald’, one of the largest contiguous forests in Germany, you can reach us by public transportation. This is a rural area with little night life, but it is beautiful walking country. We also have mountain bikes, you could use to explore the countryside. It’s not far to the national forest ‘Kellerwald’ and if you want to go on daytrips (with us or by yourself), Marburg, Frankenberg or Korbach are nice towns/villages to visit. In wintertime you could go to the skiing resort around Winterberg, which is 40km away.

    If you are a competent rider you can go on trail rides with us. In this case we expect you to help taking care of the horses and stables. You need your own accident insurance and to bring your own helmet and suitable footwear.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 658572839549