Help with child minding near Clonakilty, Ireland

updated

Favourited 195 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    20/11/2017

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    211

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am German and living for 15 years in Ireland. My son is six years old and going to a primary school. We are renting a modernly converted barn in the south of Ireland, and we try to live and eat healthy. Some of our food is organic.
    I am much interested in different cultures, habits, and music. I had studied ethnomusicology. My main focus there was on music censorship. I also learned to play some music, mainly on harp. Though, being a single parent has not left me with much time to play music over the last couple of years. But my intention is getting back into playing again. With the help of volunteers I might be able to free up some time to practise music again.
    More recent, I have also learned some shiatsu and ayurvedic yoga massage, which I hope to practise and study more. I go to Tai Chi classes and would love to learn some yoga.
    My child is very energetic. He likes being outdoors. At the moment, he is into cycling and wants to learn climbing trees better. He is bilingual. German is native language and English he speaks in school and with most friends. He is a great imagination and I very much support that.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    As a lone parent, I am mainly seeking a volunteer to help me a bit minding my 6 year old child. I am also attending a shiatsu training to become a shiatsu practisioner. The trainings are one weekend a month. At the training weekends, I will need someone that can be here in the house with Malvin and mind him during the day. The volunteer would have off other days instead. Days and times can all be agreed beforehand if needed as I have a timetable for my course.
    I rarely go out or socialise but I would like to do that sometimes. I like to go to a yoga or tai chi class, or even go to a music gig in the evening. Then it would be great of the volunteer could mind Malvin.

    I would love a volunteer that will play with my child and teach him something. Languages, arts, crafts, music and more are all welcome.
    So far, I usually have done all of the cooking and housework when I had volunteers. But I would like to change that now. As the workaway organisation states themselves on their website, it is expected that preparing meals, cooking, and genereal housework will be shared between all people in the household. That includes the volunteer as well and I especially would prefer if tasks like the cooking and cleaning up after would be shared, please. That would leave me to spend time and play with my child myself.
    The ideal volunteer would have experience with children and definitely should like kids.

    We also have a cat, a dog, and a few chickens. Our dog is very elderly, slow and fragile, and needs a lot of attention. She is like a patient that needs extra care. She sometimes falls and needs little walks around the house. She doesnt want to come in the car anymore when I go away. It would be great if the volunteer could help looking after her at times. If I need to go away for day or even half a day, it would be great to have someone here staying in the house with her and take her out when she wants to go outside.

    There is no strict routine timewise but the volunteer should notice that I may need someone to care for my child an occasional evening and/or weekend. In that case, the volunteer will have other time off.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a double bed available in a private bedroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live pretty rural in the countryside. There is no public transport and no shops here! The next town is Clonakilty which is about 10 minutes drive away by car. Some people hitch hike here which is handy to get around and meet locals.
    Cork city is about 1 hour drive away and Killarney 1 hour. Both towns can be reached by bus from Clonakilty town centre.
    Also to mention, our internet is somewhat limited! We can use it for emails and social networks but downloading things, watching films and videos, we dont have the capacity for it.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have hosted a few volunteers and these were very nice experiences. I also have supervised, worked and lived with volunteers over the past years when we were renting a house on a big farm. So far, we really enjoyed each other's company for example by learning cultural habits, cooking and watching a film together. Several times, I have taken volunteers sight seeing. I still would like to show volunteers around our area if they like. For example, there are a couple of nice beaches close by.

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    Mainly babysitting (maximum 25/week)

My Photo Album














Host ref number: 657373549815