Small farmhouse in the countryside and 10 mins walk to an Italian large village.

Favourited 243 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    27/11/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a single mum, english by birth but have lived for 23 years in Italy. My daughter studies in the UK.
    I live in the country just outside a village called Castel del Piano. I have one dog, one cat and two horses. One of the horses is 6 years old and needs some training and daily contact . I need help with clearing and tidying the cellar, painting, fencing, moving and stacking wood and daily chores of animal care.
    From our house to the village it is ten minutes walk. The village has everything basic that one needs. In winter seeing as we live also on a mountain, it's twenty minutes up to the ski slopes and in summer one hour away from the beach, that's in the opposite direction. Pubblic transport is bus and can take you to the nearest cities like Grosseto (45 minutes), Florence (2 and a half hours) and Siena (one hour and a half). Rome(3 hours and a half) by bus and train, the station in Grosseto. I am almost vegetarian but eat fish, cheeses and rarely anything. We havn't got a television but have unlimited internet.
    I am quite quiet and enjoy being outside. I am english and speak both english and Italian. I have an old house, nothing where I live is modern, but it is also not too old !
    I sometimes need to go to the UK and would need the house looked after.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    collecting wood and stacking it for the winter. Helping to sort out and tidy house and cellar. Maintenence and building of wooden and electric fencing and finish building a stable. Check horses for water, hay and ideally help horse exercising. Walk dog and feed dog and cat. On occasion house-sit as I may need to go away for a couple of weeks to visit my daughter.
    In exchange we can assure you excellent food and wine, and take you somewhere you would like to go, not too far !

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, and italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bedroom with a single bed , or two singles pushed together to make a double and a shared bathroom. Lots of books.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can practice english or learn italian. There are beautiful views and walks you can enjoy. It is not to busy and rather peaceful. you can go to the sea. you can slow down and have a taste of italian life and cooking. you have a very flexible volunteer hours. there are lots of historical sites ranging from prehistorical man to etruscan, roman and medival times. it is simple . you can also enjoy the raw nature of the maremma. places to see are mt amiata, giardino di spuerri, giardino dei tarocchi, bagno s filippo, monte labbro, arcidosso, seggiano, abbadia s salvatore, santa fiora.
    You can sit in the Corsini cafe and have a very good coffee and cake. Choose from one of the many restaurants in the village.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Slow italian life in a large village.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 (max 25 hours per week)

My Photo Album










Host ref number: 652737198343