Help with off the grid/outdoor projects in my country cabin near Oslo, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 28 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/07/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, My name is Joe. I am an American living in Norway for the last 30 years. I have recently taken out my retirement after working here as an art teacher with handicapped and non-handicapped young people.

    I am a creative man, enjoy arts and crafts, I like nature and I have a good sense of humor. I was an active ceramic artist for many years. But now my interests have changed.

    I love nature and enjoy the challenges of gardening this far north.

    A few years ago I bought a cottage which is located 40 min from Oslo, in the forest of Østmarka. Its a fantastic location, very quiet , except for the birds, with no neighbours except for the dog sledding kennel 1 kilometer down the gravel road.

    I have a few projects to start which need assistance .
    Mostly gardening and landscaping. Some basic carbentry skills would come in handy or I could teach you.

    I dont have electricity or running water at the cottage. There is an outhouse. My property is located on a lake.

    I live about 20 min. away by car, so showering could be taken there.

    There is no internet at the cottage ,but I have it at home if you need to check in.
    But I have lots of books at the cottage.!
    I can provide pictures and more info . if your interested.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As an ( older, 64 ) experienced teacher I am happy to share any knowledge I have reguarding Norway, Norwegian nature, Art and crafts, carpentry, botany, ect.

    If interrested to learn Norwegian, I can help teach you. Or help you with English.

    Walks in the forest, swimming in the (cold) lake, making Norwegian food together.

    You would have the opportunity to take the bus to Oslo after work if you like.

    I could take you sight seeing.

    I am a kind and patient man with a good sense of humor.

  • Help

    Help

    English speaker, easy going, non smoker , hard working, understand basic gardening. Enjoys nature.
    Some one that doesn't mind being alone in a lovely forest after a work day..

    Ive finished the renovation of the cottage and am now looking for a strong , sensible young person to assist me with the landscaping and some elementary carpentry. ( I was a carpenter before I became a teacher.) Work would be revolved around digging, planting and some building.

    I could use an assistant.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Norwegian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have 4 buildings on my property. My working guest would have his own bedroom. I will not be staying there over night. I usually just drive home. So this type of sistuation is ideal for someone who likes to be alone after work. Or take the bus to Oslo.

    Remember that in Norway in the summer its light outside quite late...to about 24:00...so not very spooky about being alone.

    The main cottage has a full kitchen with a gas stove and oven. I usually keep perishables in a ice chest.

    I bring drinking water from home. I will provide the food according to the Workawayers needs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lots of beautiful nature to explore, fishing, swimming and as mentioned, there is a bus to Oslo very day also have alot of different books at the cottage.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 647657891449