Come and help with horses and outdoors in rural Transylvania, Romania

Country

Romania

Favourited 32 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/03/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We are a family of 5, with 3 children (2,12,15). Me, Orsi and my husband Zola (31 and 42) are both ornithologist and ecologist. We live in a village which is 20 km away from a bigger city, Cluj-Napoca. Our house and yard is just near the forest, with only a few neighbours. We moved here not long ago, so the house and especially the yard needs a lot of work. We are planning to plant flowers and a little garden this year.
    It's a very quiet place, with a lots of birds, two huge walnut trees and squirrels. We have two horses, we use them for riding. We have two dogs and a hen and a rooster (we used to have more). We are also planning to build a proper chicken coop for them.
    There is always a lot to do here, especially outdoors.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a village with a vivid cultural life. It has a Spa and more restaurants. It has its own choir which is 150 years old. It is also a place for different events. If you like nature and remote places that are not totally isolated from civilisation, you will like this place.

  • Help

    Help

    We welcome people who are flexible and eager to help in our small projects. Work depends on the season and the weather. We mainly need help with organising and cleaning the backyard. We still have a lot of leftover wood and other stuff that needs sorting out. Some old trees need to be cut from the orchard. Our cellar needs some renovation. There might have some smaller building projects. Depending on the season we also need help with our horses, like feeding them, cleaning their paddock, pasture maintenance and vegetation cleaning. Occasionally we might need some help with our 2 year old son, Samu.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Hungarian, Romanian, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be sleeping in a camper. It is very comfortable, we use it for going on holidays or for guest. There is heating, a stove, running water and a fridge in it. Eating will be together in the house with our family most of the times. Shower is available in our house. Our water comes from a well, which has a limited amount, so we have to use it with care. We might have to use the outside toilet for this reason.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can go horseback-riding in your time off. We live just beside a forest. There is also a beautiful valley for strolling, riding or biking. The Torda-gorge is 15 km away, a natural reserve, one of the richest and most scenic karst landscapes in Romania. The nearest city is quite big, it is 20 km away, you can go there by bus. There are a lot of events in the city, like concerts, parties, sport facilities. The Gilau mountains are quite close, if you are up to backpacking and hiking.
    Sorry, but we can't accomodate people with special dietary requirements.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 646358798725