Gardening and general handiwork in Melbourne, Australia

updated

Favourited 218 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    23/11/2017

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We're two adults and two young kids (6 and 9) living in Melbourne's middle north (easy public transport - train or tram - to the city, Northcote and Fitzroy). We're up for meeting people from other places who are independent, curious and open minded. We've been hosts on and off for a few years and have enjoyed meeting adventurous people on a mission to learn and explore.
    We have been creating a productive garden space based loosely on permaculture principles. We have chickens and guinea pigs, vegetables and fruit trees and space for the children to play. It's all a work-in-progress as we've been in this home for less than 2 years. We try to have a light impact on the earth by keeping our consumption to a minimum and eating low on the food-chain (although we're not totally vegetarian).
    We've had a break from hosting for several months but would now appreciate some help to get on top of some cleaning and gardening tasks. Carpentry or construction skills would be extra handy. We are interested in stays of about one week.
    Preston, where we live, is not only within easy reach of the city, it's quite an interesting very multicultural neighborhood. There is a food market nearby that's very popular, and a few cafes around too.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Help

    Help

    Current help would include (if skills permitted): cleaning, general garden work, installing water tanks, possibly helping with some building work in our attic (depending on skills).
    Cooking is welcome if you're comfortable cooking for a family.
    We have a mostly vegetarian diet, typically eating meat about once a week, but happy to be totally vegetarian if we had guests who were. We buy mostly organic seasonal fruit and veg, as we receive a mixed box from a community supported agriculture scheme.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English (and a bit of German - James only)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Spare room in the house (3 bedroom house). There is a queen sized futon bed in this room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are currently interested in stays of about one week (occasionally two) at a time, not long-term stays.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We really enjoy talking with people from other places. We also love sharing our knowledge of what melbourne has to offer. If you are interested in melbourne's art and music scene or local environmental initiatives then we're in a good location to access lots of stuff that goes on in melbourne's vibrant inner-north.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 plus meals cleanup max 25 hours a week

My Photo Album









Host ref number: 638581116314