Help around our property on the edge of the village of Alderholt, near the New Forest National Park, UK

Favourited 18 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    18/01/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register

2018

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a 1 acre smallholding including chickens, ducks, bees (and soon-to-be pigs), as well as a small orchard and vegetable plot. Situated on the edge of Ringwood Forest, a beautiful area to walk, run or cycle in and just a short drive from the New Forest National Park.
    I work full time and since my wonderful husband recently passed away I find I am in need of some extra help around the place. Also our plan is to keep pigs, so it would be great if we could build a small smoker for meat, etc.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Other

  • Help

    Help

    Depending on the season/weather, I need general help with the garden, weeding, clearing brambles/nettles, mowing lawns, feeding the animals, cleaning out coops, treating woodwork, chopping wood, kindling, etc.
    Indoor help will include redecorating The Stable and some general maintenance. We also have a project which will involve some carpentry skills to build a smoker for meat, fish, cheese, etc. (This is not essential but obviously would be an added bonus!)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English (native). Fluent Greek, a little French & Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a one bedroom Stable annexe with its own kitchen facilities which Workawayers can stay in (would suit single person or couple). There is a TV and there is wi-fi (although sketchy - we are in the country after all!) You may prefer to self-cater for some or all of your meals, or you may prefer to eat together; I would also be happy to be cooked for!
    As I work full time, this place is better suited for an independent, self-assured, self-sufficient Workawayer or couple. Your own car would be useful as we are about a mile from the village centre shop, pub, etc.
    Any questions please ask! :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located on the edge of the village without a regular bus service. Therefore, you will need to cycle (we can provide you with a bicycle) or walk. If you have your own car that is even better, there is an off-road parking space available. The nearest grocery/village shop is a mile away. Fordingbridge town is about 3.5 miles and Ringwood market town is about 8 miles. There is a direct bus service (X3) to Bournemouth and Salisbury from Fordingbridge and there is a National Express coach service from Ringwood. Salisbury has a mainline railway station serving the west county and London (Waterloo) :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Having lived and worked abroad myself in the past, it will be a great opportunity to meet Workawayers from other parts of the world and to find out about their culture, heritage, views and experiences. I used to teach English as a foreign language in Greece. For Workawayers, being so close to Ringwood Forest and the New Forest National Park there is plenty of beautiful countryside to be explored as well as the medieval city of Salisbury and prehistoric Stonehenge to the north and Southampton and Bournemouth to the south.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Planting on back patio area
The chickens’ run
Raised veggie bed #2
Raised veggie bed
One of our pair of Silver Appleyard ducks
Ringwood Forest
chicken on hat - on my head!
mowing the paddock
Daphne & Jemima, our 2 ducks
The Stable
one of my chickens!
view of the paddock in the summertime
Host ref number: 634432349295