Come join our family home and help with the garden and yard in Victoria, BC, Canada




Favourited 66 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Hi ! We have space September 16-30 2019 and then again May 1-31 2020

    We need help with gardening and household tasks. Our biggest priority right now is maintaining our permaculture gardens. Anyone with carpentry skills would be great, as we want to build some hoop houses on our existing raised beds, and a bike shelter.

    We have nice accommodation either in a suite on your own or with our eldest son.

    It is largely self-catering (you make your own food from the groceries or heat meals we have prepared) as you'll have your own space for cooking/eating, but we hope you will come share some meals with us too.

    I'm a lawyer and my husband is a pharmacist and we have four young adult sons - two still living at home. We enjoy family, gardening, cooking, pets (we have a friendly cat but she is not in your suite, so if you have allergies you'll be ok), being out on our boat, being away, and being at home. We have travelled a lot and enjoy meeting new people. I work part-time so I'm home a lot. My husband works more than full time so you'll see less of him.

    We need help mostly with:

    general yard work and gardening
    some cooking prep/batch cooking for the family and you - we make almost everything ourselves from good ingredients
    other small maintenance matters

    Sorry, but we cannot accommodate smokers. We can accommodate vegetarians.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will meet and spend time with you but you will be on your own some of the time. Our place is centrally located and near the buses so you will be close to much of what the beautiful garden city of Victoria has to offer.

  • Help


    We are looking for garden and yard work primarily. Experience in this area is a plus. Cleaning and home maintenance experience are also very useful. Carpentry skills would be excellent.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    A large, separate, three bedroom suite with full kitchen, bathroom, laundry, internet and cable tv.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bus routes, attractions and shopping nearby. We can help with any questions about Victoria!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day five days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 632293181643