Organic gardening and rural life among the beautiful Cantabria mountains, Spain

Favourited 276 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    26  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    06/11/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are María and András, a Spanish - Hungarian couple that decided to shift their life from an office´s work in London to start an organic garden in the beautiful Cantabrian mountains.

    We grow organic vegetables, keep some animals and hope to do veggies preserves in the near future. We have chicken, sheep, and a tortoise. We try to develop a homestead with permaculture principles in mind.

    We like foraging and experimenting new recipes, preserving and cooking, swimming and hiking our nice surroundings.

    We enjoy meeting and working with proactive people interested in a self sustainable life style and our life project, so please don´t consider us as an opportunity for cheap holiday.

    We´ve also been volunteers ourselves and have lived in different countries (Italy, Iceland, The Netherlands, Germany, UK...) always enjoying the multi cultural experience.

    We now have our newborn baby on our hands and thus not taking on volunteers until things settle down... So be on the lookout for changes in our availability.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    Tasks will be diverse depending on the season, here some hints for

    *️️ WINTER: cleaning garden beds, spreading conpost, planting trees, preparing seedlings, transplanting bushes, pruning, etc

    *️️ SPRING: preapre seedlings, prepare beds, plant (a lot!), mulch, install watering systems, improving our water catchment ponds, painting and building works, etc

    *️️SUMMER: garden manteinance, watering, planting, seeding, weeding, cutting the grass, collecting veggies, picking berries, preparing orders, making preserves, and finishing up what we couldn´t manage in the spring, etc

    We ALWAYS need to do general maintenance works, build compost piles, weeding, prepare orders, feed the animals, collect the eggs, etc.

    DAILY HOUSE DUTIES (cooking, washing up, cleaning) will be shared between everybody.

    Please keep in mind that most of our tasks involve long time outdoors and can be physically demanding, but we know the job can be great fun and very rewarding!

    We have many ideas to be developed during the season, we´ll be happy to share with you what we have learnt so far and new ideas are always welcome!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, Hungarian, German, Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a small village with wonderful views to the valley and the mountains, it´s two kilometers away from our garden.

    Volunteers will share a room and we all share the bathroom.

    There is no central heating, but we have a wood stove in the kitchen and loads of blankets if the real winter comes.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our area (Valles pasiegos) is the typical Cantabrian countryside with mountains, forest, pastures, creeks and beautiful landscape, so you will have the opportunity to enjoy our rural life style.

    Less than 30 people live in our village, 2km away there is a slightly bigger one where you can find a shop, some bars and the bus stop.

    The sea and Santander (the region´s capital) are around half an hour away by car. There is public transport in the area, but it is fairly limited. We have bikes you can borrow.

    Nature is at our the doorstep, you can find plenty of birds, wild animals, and nice areas to hike around.

    We are normally expecting volunteers to stay for around 2 weeks, this period could be extended upon agreement.

    We love positive, easy going and pro active people. We´ll do our best to make you feel at home and have fun with us :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are happy to share all we have learned on our way at the garden, animal keeping, cooking, preserve making, rural life and starting a new life and business in north Spain.

    We usually speak English at home, but if you are keen on improving your Spanish, we will do our best to speak as much as possible in Spanish.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

















Host ref number: 625144963217