Welcome to the Best Coast! We are an adventurous family of four living in beautiful Squamish, BC

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 124 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️ Hello! We are looking for someone to stay for July-August, starting as soon as possible*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️

    Welcome to the Best Coast! We are an adventurous family of four living in beautiful Squamish, BC, a town that has some of the best climbing, kiting, biking, kayaking, skiing, hiking and mountaineering around. No other North American destination offers this caliber of outdoor adventure in one location. Our home is centrally located near Downtown (walking distance), and fully set up to host adventurers (lots of gear storage!).

    In the past three years, we’ve travelled to many destinations around the world with our kids because we love to experience new adventures and new cultures. Now we’re home again in Squamish and ready to put down our roots in the place we love best. We are a goal-oriented family and Dave and I are both working hard at our respective careers, but we love our downtime, our family time, and our adventure time. I am currently on leave and writing a book, and my partner, Dave, owns , a local hostel (check out the Workaway account for the Inn!). Through our friends and the Inn we have connections to many local businesses and we’ve tried just about every restaurant there is, so we have a lot to offer as local guides. We also kite, mountain bike, climb, hike, and ski, so we can point you in the right direction if you want to adventure.

    Our sons are Jove, almost 3, and Ashley, 16 months. Jove is a boisterous, friendly boy who loves people and running around. Ashley is quieter, but also loves people and is usually trying to keep up with his older brother. Both boys have experience with babysitters/nannies/daycares etc. and adapt well to new people.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Kinderbetreuung
    Kochen/einkaufen

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Canada is a vast country, much of it uninhabited and even untouched. Part of being a resident of the Pacific Northwest means living and working alongside this wilderness; you can walk a few blocks and leave the safety and comfort of the civilized world and be in nature, where the structure and rules are very different. It is a thing you can’t experience in many places in the world, but it is very present in Squamish. Most people who live here are searching for that closer connection to the great outdoors. Being steps away from beautiful parks, forests, mountains and the Pacific Ocean is just one reason why Squamish has the youngest and fastest growing demographic in Canada. The surrounding area is just as spectacular: both Whistler and Vancouver are a 35 minute drive away, with lots more to explore.

    For Dave and I, this exchange is also very much about family and building our connections with people around the world. We have a dream of raising our children in a community environment rather than an insular family unit: we want them to experience many different people and we want the people who care for them to feel like part of our family. As our guest and housemate we would like to help you integrate with the community, experience everything that Squamish has to offer, and have fun!

    The other aspect of this exchange is the Inn: you will be introduced to the other workawayers there and welcome to hang out in the Hostel common areas any time you like. The Hostel is a 20 minute walk from our house, or you can catch a ride with Dave when he goes to work ;) There may be the possibility to work there as well if you’re looking for more hours or future positions after this exchange.

  • Help

    Help

    *️️️*️️️*️️️We are offering $15/hour pay for each hour worked in addition to the 18 hours exchanged for room and board*️️️*️️️*️️️

    We would like to have childcare for 5 days a week during the day, and one evening (7PM-11PM). These days may fall on a weekend, but we will follow a schedule so you will be able to plan your leisure time well in advance. The day will be structured something like this:

    8/9AM-11:30AM: Outing (we will provide a schedule of activities you can attend with the kids)
    11:30AM-1:00PM: Lunch (you prepare)
    1:00PM-3:00PM: Baby’s nap time or quiet play
    3-4/5: Walk, Outdoor play, visit with friends etc.

    Some more details: the “Outing” is often a scheduled group play in the community where you can take the kids and supervise them while they socialize. During Ashley’s nap time, taking care of Jove involves playing with him or doing an activity (like play dough, baking, painting, drawing etc.). In the afternoon, there are many places to walk and explore with the kids, including trails and parks by our house or local businesses downtown. We have strollers, bikes, wagons and carriers to facilitate this. We also have a backyard and garden the kids will enjoy playing in.

    The nighttime childcare will be structured like this:

    7PM: Feed bottles
    7:30PM: Bath Time
    8PM: Pajamas, books, lullaby
    8:30PM: Bedtime
    The rest of the night is free time for you (you just have to remain in the house if you're babysitting that evening).

    And just a final note on the kids: we are committed to raising polite, respectful, well-behaved children and you will not be asked to tolerate bad behaviour - we want you to help us raise amazing kids and we will give you the tools to do it :) We may require more childcare if you are interested (if not, we can hire a babysitter); we pay a rate of $15/hour.

    In addition to childcare, you will also be asked to clean up after yourself, clean your bathroom (common bathroom) once per week, and to keep your room tidy, as well as prepare your own breakfast and lunch (with food we provide). We hire a separate cleaner regularly so you don't need to do any deep cleaning.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We are offering room and board in the best small town in Canada! We live in a four bedroom rancher style house with 2.5 bathrooms, a large kitchen, a large common room, laundry room, backyard (with large garden), 2 gear storage rooms, 2 covered carport areas, and driveway. We have a 4 year old border-collie cross dog named Odin who has more friends than we do, who is always open for a snuggle, fetch, or walk. You’ll have your own key and can come and go as you please! Vancouver and Whistler are both less than 45 minutes away by car or bus.

    ROOM: You will be staying in a furnished bedroom and using one of the common bathrooms. We’ve got high speed wifi, lots of fridge space, great sound system, a projector for watching movies/Netflix, and cozy living space. And, of course, storage for your adventure gear. Please note that because our young children are living with us, we don’t allow guests over unless we’re having a social event like a potluck or party. But, you may invite other Nannies/aupairs over for playdates with their children while you are working. The hostel common areas are also places you can socialize, as long as guests sign in and respect the rules of the space.

    FOOD: We provide all groceries. You will prepare your own breakfast and lunch (with the food we buy) but can also join us if you'd like to eat whatever we're cooking. We will often prepare meals for dinner and hope you will join us for a family dinner each night :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    - No smokers/vapers
    - Must have previous childcare experience
    - Must have valid driver’s license
    - We have a dog

    Additionally, we have a vehicle you may use to transport yourself and the kids to activities, and potentially you may borrow it for your personal use on occasion (let us know when you need a vehicle and we will discuss!). We also have a bike you can borrow to get around town (most places in Squamish can be reached by bike). There are also many bus transportation companies heading to Whistler and Vancouver for reasonable rates.

    As a final note, preference will be given to volunteers who can commit to staying for longer periods as it will enable our young children to build lasting bonds with their caretakers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    18 hrs exchange, full time paid



Host ref number: 597243945147