We are a community that strives to live in a conscious way- join us in creating and improving natural beauty. Castile and Leon, Spain



Favourited 259 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    58.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Hi everyone,

    We are a small community located between Bilbao and Burgos consisting of five people in their late twenties, with backgrounds in philosophy, art, carpentry and international development. Three years ago this project was started because we wanted to live closer to nature and to improve our environment by doing what we love in a more harmonious pace of life. We like to play and work outside, build stuff, plant trees and make this space a little bit more beautiful every day. We have a lot of ideas to put into practice and are looking for people who want to join us in creating and improving natural beauty.
    We have only started three years ago, so there is still a lot of basic infrastructure to develop. The village has been abandoned for decades and the surrounding land has been overgrazed and deforested for centuries. Therefore the land may seem a bit barren and degraded but we are working hard to create a lush and abundant paradise.

    We as a community strive to live in a conscious way. Through consensus based decision-making we try to come to agreements everyone believes in. Mostly, these agreements come down to very practical and concrete actions, like trying to recycle as much as possible, dumpster diving, and using biodegradable products (please take them with you if you are coming over).
    But these behavioural choices are a result of a long process of reasoning and weighing our ideals. Therefore, we expect our guests to join us in our way of life and to respect the values we hold dear, but we also want to invite everyone to contribute to the discussion of constantly trying to improve our environment and ourselves.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Exchange knowledge about community living, permaculture gardening, forest management, woodworking, bioconstruction, animal care, goldsmithing, tool maintenance, beer brewing, English, Spanish or Dutch language practice.
    Alternative off-grid living.

  • Help


    We are looking for independent people with a DIY mentality who appreciate nature and an off-grid lifestyle. We aim to live responsibly and autonomously, and to be resourceful with what we gather from our surroundings.

    For the coming season (spring/summer/fall) we will work on the following:
    - Wall restoration with concrete and/or cob.
    - Building dry stone walls
    - Garden maintenance; weeding, planting etc. while learning about companion planting and permaculture, creating structures for the plants (and us?!) to climb in.
    - Building an outside oven
    - Building little hikers cabins
    - Food conservation; canning, making lemonades, marmelades, jams and drying fruits in our solar dryer
    - Make art

    The skills that would help us here are; Carpentery, masonary, construction skills, garden knowledge, own ideas and a strong back and mind ;)

    Daily tasks include...
    Cooking (We mainly eat vegetarian but very occasionally eat meat)
    Tending to and watering the vegetable garden
    General cleaning and tidying

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, Dutch

  • Accommodation


    Depending on the time and your preferences we have a small guest room with a couple of single and double beds, a caravan with a double bed, and a big camping area for you to put a tent or campervan.
    Shared kitchen where we cook and eat together.
    Outside compost toilet.
    Inside and outside shower.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have 2 cats, 4 dogs 30+ chicken and 1 horse. They can all be cuddled and taken on for hikes.
    We brew beer and sell this in markets about twice a month (if you want you can join us)
    We have bees and collect the honey once or twice a year.
    The village is surrounded by nature, good for long walks and mountain bike trails.
    We are about 20 minutes away from the city by car where the bus station is also located.
    We will try to help you get where you want to go and if you want, we can also do something together.
    We are 1,5 hrs away from the beach, and 20 mins away from a nice swimming area with waterfalls.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 583366963247