Help us develop our small holding and finish building in Monchique, Portugal.

Country

Portugal

Favourited 182 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/04/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    411

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Emily (27) & James (30) from England + our dogs Dill and Patti.

    I (Emily) am currently 7 months pregnant and have to slow down a lot with the work I do on the land. I can no longer help James with the heavy work so we are looking for a couple or individual who can help James with heavier work as well as lighter tasks. Preferably you will have your own campervan or tent as our extra accommodation was sadly destroyed in the wildfire last summer.

    James is a carpenter . I work part time as a carer and do reiki. We travelled through France and Spain in our self built campervan and stopped at workaway projects to get inspiration. We've also travelled in South, Central and North America.

    We have a 5 achre plot of land situated in a valley 20 minutes from Monchique, south-west Portugal. The valley is an ecological reserve so we are sorrunded by an abundant variety of native trees and have a year round stream with natural pools for bathing at our border. We started work August 2017 so it's early days and a basic setup. We aim to become a self-sustaining small holding with alternative accommodation, retreat space, home grown organic vegetables, goats and pigs and whatever more!

    We provide 3 meals a day in return for 4-5 hours work, 5 days a week.

    Our land is very quiet and peaceful, only a few neighbours, so be prepared to chill, go for walks and have time to yourselves in nature.

    I love all things women's health and empowerment. Sacred circles, exploring the inner world of energies, deepening connections to nature, each other and ourselves. I like to mediate, do yoga, qi gong, and dance.
    James likes to surf, skate, go fishing, make things from wood and leather and drink beer 😉
    We love art, music and films.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will experience the early stages of a small holding. What it's like to build an off grid life from scratch...water systems, composting toilets, renovating ruins, preparing a vegatbale garden.
    Learn to live in harmony with nature and embrace the beauty of a simple life.
    James is happy to share his knowledge of carpentry.
    I like to give reiki in exchange for anything that feels good to us both.
    I try to work mindfully and would like to share this experience with others.

  • Help

    Help

    The wildfires last summer passed through our valley and burnt everything we'd spent the past year and a half building. Including our home, campervan, bell tent, fruit trees, vegetable garden...it was devastating.
    We have worked really hard the past 7 months to rebuild our house and are very happy to have moved home 2 weeks ago!
    We are currently looking for a couple or individual to help us finish off some building work, clear the land of dead trees and start to help it look beautiful again. There are many jobs to do. Help in our organic vegetable garden, build an out house for storage, finishing off a patio and building herb bed, building an alternative accommodation for volunteers and friends.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, learning Portugese, beginners Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Space for camper vans/tents to pitch up.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Plenty of beautiful walks through the valley.

    Good mountain cycle tracks.

    Monchique town is a 20 minutes drive away where there are bars, cafes & shops.

    West coast is a 45 minute drive, beautiful beaches, cliffs, surf, more walking.

    South coast is 30 minute drive, beaches, caves, cliff jumping, large towns to explore, restaurants.

    Free party's around the mountains and gigs in and around town.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 573433928415