Friendly family, friendly dogs, close to mountains (see photos) in Rural France LANNEMEZAN



Favourited 173 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We have room from Mid November and possibly Christmas as well.

    Hi and thanks for clicking the profile.

    (Sorry for next few lines but feel it is important to point these things out from the start)

    Please not the minimum stay is 2 weeks stay so please only contact us if you can commit to the minimum stay and English speaking is a must. If this is you then please do read on to the good stuff. :)

    So about us. We are Benedicte and Harry and we have 2 children Quentin (9) and Temperance (7) and 2 dogs Tilly and Ella.

    We have our own Pet sitting business and all our dogs are free to run around and have fun in a pack running around a large garden, unlike your standard kennels where dogs spend a great deal of time behind bars or walls (all dogs are tested before we accept bookings to ensure they fit in with our set up as not all dogs are suitable to be let free with other dogs). Dogs do all live in our house, some in the living room, some in dog bedrooms, some even sleep in our room and the kids rooms. (kids room is our own dogs) so being around allot of dogs and being comfortable is a must.

    While English speaking is a must and French is great if you have it and longer stating guests. Are welcome to try to teach my kids their own languages too. There will be plenty of opportunities to practice your French and English if you want to as well

    The minimum stay is 2 weeks. While we only take individual workaways, we may accept a couple if one is able to do kids and the other help with the house renovations.

    So What we are looking for:

    We are looking for some assistance with:

    Child care, getting kids ready for school and entertaining evenings and weekends.

    Some general works around our house and grounds and renovating.

    Most importantly the love of dogs is a must and confidence around them as while this is not work related it is important that people are not worried of dogs as our dogs guests are part of our family and the sofa is as much the dogs as ours.

    While you are welcome to spend time with the dogs in the garden and the house and do things like groom them it is not part of the workaway duties to work with the dogs ie clean up after them, wash them, as this is something that unfortunately is not allowed under french employment laws.

    All dogs that come to stay must be fully vaccinated as per French law to be within the house and mix with other dogs
    We are in close to a local town, walking, lift or bicycle. Nearest train station is under 5 mins drive away with access to Toulouse and Tarbes. Our nearest town is Lannemezan which we are 2 minutes drive away

    There is the ability to rent cars from Drivy (21 and over). We can offer lifts to places or the use of a small car depending on your licence and age and include you on day trips to the mountains where you can go do your own thing or chill with the family

    My Wife is French but speaks both English and French and my 2 children 9 and 7 both speak French and English.

    My hobbies are dogs and computers, walking and reading. (love other things too but with the dog sitting just no time for them). My Wife loves dogs, our children, walking, going to the mountains and having a good conversation. We both love cooking and are very relaxed.

    Our children love their consoles, games, being outdoors, cartoons and just generally having fun. (pretty much normal children).

    I am not much for conversation at times other times just a full on joker and up for a laugh, at work I tend to be focused on the dogs, my wife and kids on the other hand love to have conversations.

    so very quiet and great at night time for looking at the stars.

    If you would like any further information and to contact us please do so.

    We will make your stay as nice as we possibly can. . If a work away asks us to consider someone they have travelled with to come to stay as well though we will look at this but no more than 2 workaways as there just is not the work for that many people.

    We will cater for all food and drinks (non-alcoholic) and washing etc (please bring enough that your not having to run a wash every 2 days) , all bed linen and anything else you may need that we would provide for a member of our own family or friends. We want you to arrive entering a great place and leave wanting to stay forever. We will include you as much as humanly possible. We are meat eaters so and while we can cater for none meat eaters the menu may not be great unless your good at cooking.

    Our house is a smoke free environment. People can smoke outside (my wife does have the occasional cigarette). While we do not mind smokers it would be expected for them to go to the side of the house away from the house to smoke. E cigarettes are fine.

    To note following a recent request where the workaway had zero photos and did not want to video chat, we do require to video chat with anyone who is coming to stay, we cannot do blind invites. I think this is an important part of getting to know each other and making sure everything will go well. As you can see from our profile and from our reviews, we are a very friendly family and want to ensure you are treated like part of our family.

    We look forward to speaking with you all very soon.

    Benedicte, Harry and kids and dogs

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Help


    Getting kids ready for school, entertaining kids, cuddling dogs and some general renovation work.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They can learn French with my children and wife and can experience life in the area we live.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Accommodation


    Bedroom with a double bed and other furnishings.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a local refuge that always wants help walking dogs and cleaning out, there is the mountains in driving distance, many walks and lakes around. There is lots to do in the local areas but we are in a remote location (we will offer transport to some places)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day/ 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Tilly one of my dogs Photographed by a workaway.

Host ref number: 568643363284