Help on an organic family homestead, Texas, USA, also construction projects

Favourited 9 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    17/01/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    172

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register

2018

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is a 7-acre, 365 days a year, organic family homestead trying hard to be permaculture and sustainable. We are about an hour northwest of Houston, and about that far from Bryan/College Station, both of which have lots to see and do. Our work-day is usually from 10:30 am to 4:30 pm, 6 days a week. We have a furnished apartment with A/C, or a cabin, tent pad, or a couch in the big house for you and laundry privileges. We also hosted other volunteers and so there may be several young folks here. It is a lot of fun. We have a 5 star host rating, and many volunteers return.

    Texas Renaissance Festival is only 10 minutes away! Open each weekend through first weekend in December.

    We have hogs that escape, rabbits that rarely breed, and eggs that won't hatch. Our goat had only boys, and the chickens in the pasture say Texas is too hot. But now it has cooled off and the chickens are happy again. Brand new piglets born on October 7.

    Also we had water damage in the house. We need plywood floors removed and new plywood put down and finished. Also another wood floor refinished. This floor work is paid work.

    We would so appreciate your help.

    Please note that we are pro-life, and only married couples may share a bedroom.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    We need help digging ponds, swales and berms, especially for greywater catchment. We have tanks for rainwater that need to be made workable, and construction of chicken tractors, potable shade houses, a feed room, and a smokehouse. The composting toilet/outside shower still needs to be finished. Other ideas are always welcome.

    The flowerbeds need attention, the lawn needs mowing, and the house has never been finished.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Only English well; a very little Spanish and even less French.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Two bedroom apartment is often shared by more than one helper. The living room of the apartment is usually the hangout for all the volunteers at that time. There is also a cabin with no electricity or running water, but there is an outside shower and toilet. There is a tent site, and several couches at the big house. Female helpers get dibs on apartment if several workers here at one time. Sorry fellows. There are laundry facilities.

    Families are welcome if the apartment is available. Crib is in the larger bedroom, bunks in the other.

    There is no smoking in any of the buildings, or around the animals.

    I cook on Monday, Wednesday, and Thursday. On these days, you are expected to eat with us, family-style around the table. I am gone every Tuesdays, so either you cook, or it's leftover night. Friday is usually grilled cheese, and Sunday is usually hamburgers. We have a pizza oven, so, if you know how to use it, Saturday night can be pizza night. Breakfasts and lunches are on your own, but you may use food from my well-stocked pantry and freezers, and garden stuff.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Please note that we are actively pro-life and most of us are Christian. It is okay if you are not, but you must respect our views while you are on our place. And we will respect yours.

    The Texas Renaissance Festival is happening each weekend through the first weekend in December. This is only 10 minutes away!

    Our household includes myself a 67 year old Granny, and my three sons, two daughters, and two grandchildren, all at the big house or the upstairs barn apartment, the "Eagle's Eyrie." Your apartment is below this one and is the "Hobbit's Hole."

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have hosted exchange students through the years. The Gulf is two hours away and Texas is BIG. Lots to see and do, but not within walking distance. We are 1/2 hour away even from the nearest Walmart or McDonalds!

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Granny
Host ref number: 552467985718