Volunteer with a family in Norway's most popular summer resorts

Country

Norway

Favourited 502 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/07/2019

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an active couple (Eva and Per Christian, 42 and 40years old, with a 6 year old boy and twin girls 3years that runs a farm on the south coast of Norway. The farm cultivate blue mussels and oysters beside some land and forest. We have two years ago built a shellpackery at the farm to be abel to pack the shells for lokal distribution. We also have an old spinning mill at the farm, that is run in periods to produce yarn from Norwegian sheep wool. We cultivate some land and forest and we have 8 cows and 6 calfs.

    The farm is located by the sea in on the south coast between Lillesand and Grimstad. We have our own small beach and pier. The area is the best site for enjoying the nature. Fishing with a rod and nets can be your everyday activity. Here you also have the possibilities for watersport like kayaking, sailing and waterskiing. Kayaks, bikes and motorboat will be at your disposal, and you can borrow a car when needed. There is also nice bicycle routes and hiking trails in the area.
    If you want to learn Norwegian, we have had many guest who has stayed and improved a lot by talking with us and the kids.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will experience healthy and active Norwegian lifestyle; quiet place, physical work, fresh seafood, outdoor work, fast boats, slow kayaks, beautiful sunsets at the beach, all types of weather, hunting and fishing. You will learn a lot about life in the sea and how to prepare good seafood; fish, crabs, shell and seaweed. You will learn something about how to make a living at a farm in Norway and all the small and big tasks to be done in a place like this....
    If you want to learn Norwegian, we'll be happy to help you :) -and we assure you that our kids will help you a lot too :)

  • Help

    Help

    We have a variety of task at our place that we would be happy to get a helping hand with, you will never have two days the same when staying with us ;)

    we need a helping hand with:
    -shell-farming at sea (if you like outdoor work in all weather conditions, boats, fishing and fresh sea)
    - various projects; small buildings/fixing tasks, painting, fence repairing etc (If you are a carpenter or just handy)
    - Photos: Are you a good photographer? show us our place through your lens and help us with visibility on the web!
    - Help in the house and sometimes with the kids. (kids are in kindergarten and school weekdays)

    Do not feel that you should fit all the descriptions in the list ;) It is just a guide to what we do. If you think you can help, and if you want to learn something about these things that is a good motivation.
    You will both work in team with experiencend people and independent.
    We have 1-2 persons working on a regular (paid) work contract at the farm which will be a part of the workingteam.

    We would like to host a person or a couple that can stay for a month or two ;)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Norwegian, English and some Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The guests will stay in a guest room in our house with own bathroom, OR in their own, authentic old house at the farm, that has a a living room with kitchen, bathroom and wc in the ground floor, and has a large bedroom on the 1st floor with 4 beds. This depends on who we are hosting at the moment.
    You will have free Internet connection in the house.
    We expect visitors to help in the kitchen. Some meals are prepared together, and some on your own. Our food is basic and healthy. Seafood, deer and elk is often on the menu, and we expect visitors to adjust to our standards if living in the family ;)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have bikes and kayaks for your disposal to explore the fjord and the area around. You can borrow a car if needed to go to the nearest towns. A bus is going to Oslo from Grimstad every 2 hour. (4.5 hour) if you want to see the capital of Norway in the weekend.
    And there is many other options;)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week








Host ref number: 543565693529