Help with permaculture and any other creative ideas welcome! Coimbra and Center, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 8 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/04/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I left my "cozy life" in the city to persue my dream of building a farm while the sorrounding environment improves as well. I've finally settle down here since the beginning of 2018 and I live in simple conditions. Not only because of money but I believe people in general should "step down" a bit. And it's a great learning to go throught all the processes. Now I also have a friend, Zezinho, that passed by and after enjoying a tuna can, decided to stay. I was a volunteer before in several farms in different countries and I believe that permaculture is the best answer for a lot of the current problems. I'm open for your ideas and creative skills. There is always stuff to do but I'm not depending on it. So we take it with time and the weather is who's in charge. In the surroundings there are beaches in rivers, lakes and some stone made with castle villages to enjoy.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a remote region in Portugal. The food is better than in the urban centers and people keep some traditions expressed in events and fairs. I try also to buy products to the locals that can still make a good fresh goat cheese or homemade wine. I'm a thinker and I wish we can exchange thoughts as my permaculture knowledge that I'm trying to turn it from theoretical to practical.

  • Help

    Help

    I keep a list of tasks for myself that I'll share with you. Might be work outside or some improvements in the living conditions. There will always be something to pick from. Or other with higher priority like collecting wood or harvest some fruit, cooking, watering.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Portuguese, English, a bit of Spanish and a tiny bit of French and Thai

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    My small shed allows that one or two more people sleep in a matress in the living room. If you prefer to bring a tent, is fine too. I have a compost toilet and a bathtub with warm running water in warm days, otherwise a bucket of water is heated by firewood. You are free to eat whenever you need. I'm expecting some help in cooking and when we go to the supermaket I hope there will not be many fancy requests.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The transports around here are not good but I can take you to some place and pick you up later or stay with you. We'll figure it out. The lakes, organic markets, stone villages are places I don't get tired of visiting. I'm flexible.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 543453243425