Swing Dancing, Training, Holistic Massage Therapy, Meditation, Building/Woodworking Art, Public Speaking in Vermont, USA

Favourited 541 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.

 Min stay requested: No minimum

  • Description


    UPDATE. I will be in France for several weeks starting in June. I'm not sure of my return date so if you are seeking a host for July or August... do write me as i may be able to host you. I have reservations from workawayers for Sept. & October and also for January. Other than that i have openings for fall and winter months. I especially would like french speakers so I can continue to learn the french language.

    I moved to Vermont in 2013 from the West Coast. I live a simple holistic life style. I am vegetarian but can accommodate most any diet. Here you will find a peaceful environment where you can meditate, enjoy music, play piano, learn to dance, do woodworking, exercise, learn massage therapy, healthy cooking, baking and much more.

    My goal is to teach useful, practical skills. Hosting has enabled me to make friends throughout the world. I seek workawayer guests who are dreamers, passionate about something, who desire to live life to the fullest. I'm all about drawing positive energy and knowledge from the universe.

    Your housing is in the log cabin where there is wifi, music, etc. I ask you do not use your cell phones in the main house. The main house is for people to actually visit and have conversations.
    I do not have regular TV but enjoy movies and music. There is a grand piano to play.

    Last fall with the help of workawayer Maria from Denmark we have built a N. W. training course. One of my immediate goals is to compete in the reality show.

    Life is a gift. Our attitude determines whether the things we do are 'work' or 'play'.
    We owe it to ourselves and the people in our lives to create a life filled with activities we enjoy and find fulfilling.

    Any task done well can be form of art.

    "The universe provides for those who dare to dream and take action to make those dreams come true." Oh, and Never, Never, Never Quit (Churchill)

    I fill my time with the following:

    Art projects
    Dancing & teaching dance
    Music, Vermont offers many opportunties to enjoy live bands
    Sports, I enjoy observing but for me the most fun is being in the action
    Theater, near by Middlebury College offers much culture and theater productions
    Public speaking, I compete in speech contests and do motivational speaking for conventions.
    Woodworking, from a picture frame to building a house
    Interior Design is all about the details that give the end result a feel just right energy
    Massage Therapy, I have a practice and can teach you the basics in a few weeks
    Piano, I have a grand piano I'm learning to play and welcome assistance
    Eating Healthy, I have a friend who is a professional chef, she teaches me and can teach you
    Exercise, as a life style
    Gaining Knowledge,, when making a decision, which is the greater opportunity?
    Traveling, I have seen much of the world with more to come.
    Getting to know new people, learning from them and their lives
    Always stretching self imposed limits, doing that which you fear, thus gaining strength

    Once a year I spend the summer months creating a dance routine to be performed in October for a large charity event. I need assistance with the dance practicing and video all summer long for this event.

    I am involved as an area representative for a non profit that arranges student exchanges around the world. I seek out host families for students and then oversee these high school students throughout their school year.

    When I was 19 years old I yearned for adventure and trained 4 years to became a horse jockey. I won my first professional race. Being too tall meant a strict diet and I retired after 3 years of racing at the major tracks in the US. It was the adventure they make movies out of.

    After racing horses it was back to college majoring in Theater Arts & Music at Brigham Young University in Utah.

    My life in woodworking began in grade school. After college I started a design/build home construction company. I've hired many college students teaching them building skills.

    I'm a motivational key note speaker for conventions. I compete in speech contests. I can teach you skills to improve your English and public speaking.

    My massage therapy schooling was 500 hours at Monterey Institute of Touch in California.
    I learned business, ethics, anatomy, bones, joints, muscles, the lymphatic system. I have had a massage practice for the past many years. I consider my massage training to be the most valuable of skills. Because of much interest from workawayers to learn massage therapy I have developed a mini course and can teach you the fundamentals in a few weeks.

    I can also teach you "Psychoimmunology", the study of how the mind and emotions affect the immune system. Stress & unhappiness prevent the immune system from fighting disease efficiently. I can share with you knowledge to live a healthier life.

    I teach East Coast Swing, Lindyhop, Balboa, Collegiate Shag & Boogie Woogie. If I am teaching classes during the time of your visit you will be able to assist in teaching my dance classes.

    You will have the opportunity to volunteer at my friends Steven & Edna music/dinner venue, interacting with the public and musicians. You can also assist Vicky, a master chef to learn cooking skills .

    I make homemade grains. I have a grinder and mill nutritious flours to make delicious and healthy breads, pancakes, biscuits and desserts.

    The property consists of 13 acres with a recently completed main house, garage and remodeled log cabin which is now the housing for my workaway guests.

    In your time off there is nearby hiking, camping and canoe trips to the mountains and lakes. Many music concerts, dancing and cultural events like theater to attend at nearby Middlebury College.

    I live in Leicester, VT. 12 miles south of Middlebury a charming college town. I am one hour from Burlington, VT. I'm next to the forest, a beautiful area of lakes and mountains.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help


    From my references you can see my guests have had a worth while/enjoyable experience.
    I'm seeking persons serious about gaining knowledge and experience.

    You should be willing to keep your room and the property clean and orderly. You will be asked adhere to a schedule but I'm also flexible.

    I ask that my guests do not use their cells phones while in the main house or project areas. I request this so that both of us are fully present when we communicate with each other.

    Things are neat and orderly here. I ask that you be also. Thanks

    If you like variety, challenging yourself, learning real useable skills, interacting with a wide range of people and having fun all the while I would love to have you come visit. I offer a peaceful simple experience of healthy living. There is much opportunity here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have hosted two and three persons together but it was difficult to teach more than one at a time. I now host one person so I can give you my full attention.

    You can learn about any of these subjects:

    N. W. training
    Massage therapy
    House construction & woodworking
    Swing dance & you can assist in teaching dance classes.
    I will help you improve your English and public speaking
    You can volunteer to work with Vicky a master chef in her café.
    You can volunteer to work with Steven & Enda who have a live music/dinner venue.
    Grand piano available to play or learn to play

    Please contact me with information about yourself, questions and what skills interest you.

    As soon as you contact me we can connect via whatsapp and I will send you videos of my property and other workawayers learning skills.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and seriously learning French

  • Accommodation


    Your housing is a real log cabin all to yourself. It consists of a large bedroom with queen bed, living room and massage therapy room. Gas heater and wood stove fireplace. There is a complete music system with wi fi music in the log cabin.

    Everything here is newly build, super clean, well designed etc.

    Healthy meals provided. We can take turns preparing meals if you like to cook. Baking skills welcome.

    One out door cat, Tiger Ted has his own house under the log cabin. He will quickly fall in love with any visitor.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The nearest airport is Burlington, VT (BTV) If you are flying here from out of the country it may be less expensive to fly into Boston, Logan Airport. From there you can connect with Cape Aire into Rutland Regional Airport. I will pick you up where ever you arrive.

    15 minutes from the charming college town of Middlebury which has be known to be one of the best places to live in America.

    I have bikes available to use.

    Along with living rural, camping, hiking, canoeing... there is big city culture all around with theater, music, lectures etc. I'm an hour from Burlington, the largest city in the state. Vermont is famous for Church St in Burlington on the shores of Lake Champlain. I go into Burlington regularly or you can take the bus.

    I live off Route 7 the main highway on the bus route.
    There is much to do in the area. Live music, lakes, hiking etc. I have a canoe and two bikes. My property is private enclosed by trees yet close to everything.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    No more than 20 hours per week with great flexability

Learning in Vermont

The training course being constructed
My home built by myself
Workawayer guest house with massage studio.
Workawayer guests learning skills, Maira of Denmark, Lea of Paris, Barbara of Brazil & Anna, Jana & Dephne by the fire
This is our course just completed by Maria (Denmark) and I fall, 2017
Tiger Ted my cat and workawayers Maria of Denmark, Barbara of Brazil & Lena from Germany
Singer Jenni & I at my dance event
Charity Dance Performance I take part in each summer

Host ref number: 524694488152