Help out with our 4 legged rescue animal family in Catalonia, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 352 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    67  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Over the past number of years my husband and I have rescued several street cats in Spain. We have given a home to a number of cats that have come to us, we found on the street or were given to us by people who could not take care for them themselves. We also adopted 3 rescue dogs and a rescue sheep.

    With so many animals in need it is difficult for local charities to cope with the sheer volume of abandoned animals and re-homing or adoption is not always possible. As we are totally self funded we need help with the day to day chores to provide our rescues with a healthy and happy home. Our ethos is to try and give these cats a better life, even if they will not have a long life. We don´t cage our pets and a lot of them choose to share our home.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We were both born in Ireland and have still have family living there. We originally lived in the South of Spain and have worked there and in Gibraltar. We love to pass on our knowledge, all that we have learned over the many years we have been helping street cats. We have stories of how they came to be with us, information on common illnesses and general tips on how they differ from domestic cats. It is always a pleasure for us to meet workaways who are interested to know and learn more and we will do our best to teach them something new.

  • Help

    Help

    Our days revolve around our animals. When we are not at our day jobs we are playing, interacting and tending to our pets. Volunteers should have previous experience with pets and enjoy sharing a home with animals. Daily chores involve cleaning inside house, pet areas and utensils and our own general living areas.

    The help required consists of 4-5 hours cleaning kitchen, living room, bathroom, common areas, litter trays, floors, animal feeding dishes, bedding and outside areas every helping day, dog walking and then the other hours are for spending time with the animals. They will need to know how to handle, care and be willing to live with large numbers of pets. You will spend most of your helping day cleaning up after animals,

    All our pets are rescues from the streets and some are under long term medical care. Volunteers need to be confident handling and dealing with animals, they need to be able to cope with illness in animals (minor and major) and help us with medication, treatment and care of sick animals, if needed (keep in mind these are not all tame cats). They should also be prepared to deal with the worst as not all illnesses in street cats are curable.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our home is in a very quiet urbanization situated on the outskirts of a small town just on the border between Barcelona and Tarragona. The town itself is approx 75 minutes train ride from Barcelona City. Workaways will have their own small single room. They have access to wifi.

    Volunteers prepare their own breakfast and lunch using ingredients provided. When we are home in the evenings volunteers can choose to share our evening meal with us (vegetarian) or they can cook for them selves using local vegetarian ingredients we provided.

    We can accommodate up to 2 workawayers at a time and the chores are divided between the 2. Only 1 workaway can have their days off at a time. The workaway who is not on days off needs to complete all the tasks on those days. Therefore, it might not suit couples or friends.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We need an experienced animal loving volunteer to come and stay with us in our home and help us with our daily chores and setting up our new home. This would involve a maximum of 4- 5 hours work per day, 5 days a week. Chores include feeding pets, daily cleaning of house and animals areas, changing and washing litter trays, food bowls, carry boxes and bedding, sweeping and mopping floors, general house cleaning, keeping outdoor areas clean, assist with vet visits and helping with treatment and medication if needed. Also outside maintenance, gardening and building work.

    You need to be able to live in a house that has several cats living with you, wanting to sit on your lap and interact with you. There is a lot of manual cleaning involved in the everyday chores. There is train service from the local town (5 kms away) direct to Barcelona city and there is a bus and train link from Barcelona Airport and a train link from Reus Airport.
    The nearest beach is about 5 kms from the house. Workaways will have access to a bicycle to use to get in and out of the local town.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week









































Host ref number: 522885994658