Help a family work with wood, maintain a garden, and help around the house in Country New South Wales, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 289 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    27  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Available to host: Late July :)

    We are a quiet but active family with several great projects on the go at the moment. We think couples and energetic singles would enjoy getting involved here.

    THE FAMILY: German Scientist (Felix), Aussie Massage Therapist(Camille), Kindy kid (Jana), feisty toddler (Frieda), and a small and playful dog (Yasmine).

    EXPERIENCE: We have enjoyed hosting volunteers and lodgers for the last 6 years across Melbourne, Perth, and Germany. We now live in country NSW (near Maitland 2 hrs north of Sydney and 35 mins east of Newcastle by car)
    We try to live a simple and sustainable family lifestyle within a spacious house with a sweet and colorful yard and organic vegetable garden.

    LOCATION: Our backyard looks out over rolling pastoral land. In the distance are thickly forested hills, cows and nearby you can spot kangaroos lazing in the shade.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Niñera / cuidado de niños
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Cocinar / compras
    Otra
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda con animales
    Ayuda con idiomas

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are an almost 'normal' family, busy, happy, loving and sharing. There is a real mix of practical skills that could be learned and we attempt to match your interests to the tasks at hand. If you are here to improve your English then we are patient and like to give you opportunities like reading to the children, or adult conversation in past present and future tense, pronunciation and that tricky thing called grammar :).

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking to host efficient, energetic and practical people who could assist in day to day house hold chores, gardening, and working with wood and power tools to build a large deck (if experienced).

    LONGER STAYS: If you enjoy small children and have experience at being both a friend and a mature adult then child care assistance is also great. (3 weeks or more)

    TASKS: We discuss which areas you have experience in or are interested in learning and helping with.

    This could be:
    + day to day general housekeeping, laundry, ironing
    + general gardening maintenance, weeding, pruning, mowing, edging
    + watering, planting and harvesting tasty organic vegetable garden,
    + making and baking your own sour dough bread
    + cooking simple and wholesome vegetarian meals
    + School drop off/pick ups by foot
    + quality child care with our daughters (for longer stays 3 + weeks).
    + German language practice with the girls
    + repairing things, working with wood and restoring furniture,

    BUILDING PROJECT for 2019 :
    + Completing a large wooden deck
    + Replacing retaining walls for vegetable garden beds

    22 hours of volunteer work exchange includes accommodation, vegetarian food and WiFi. Cooking a couple of meals and helping clean up after evening meals are extras.

    MIN STAY: 2 week or longer stays very welcome

    A simple resume and/or a short skype or what's app call to get to know each other a little before hand is the usual process we take before onboarding terrific volunteers. Its a great way to ask questions and get a feel for if we work well together.

    We are happy to pick up and drop off from local train station (Maitland), or airport (Newcastle) on arrival and departure and plenty of parking space avail for anyone road tripping about Oz :).

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English,

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your room has desk, clothes storage, fan/heater and most importantly a comfy Queen size bed. A little view out to the paddocks and wavy tree tops in the distance. There's a communal kitchen and living space. All are welcome to share this space or enjoy their own company.

    The garden is cute and colourful with natives, flowers and a growing number of vegies, play equipment and a lawn to spread out on.

    It is a lacto ovo VEGETARIAN house hold/kitchen. This means dairy, eggs and of course chocolate is enjoyed! In addition to your volunteer week, it is hoped that you can cook a couple of meals to share your countries traditional flavour and taste secrets :).. if not we will support you to try and follow a new vegetarian recipe for the first time. Helping with the dish washing up is also a extra for the evening/lunch meal if you are not cooking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a short bus or bike ride into the nearby townships of Maitland, Lorn and Morpeth. All townships have interesting heritage from early settlers, boutique stores, good coffee and cakes. There are also vinyards, beaches and great big forests a bit further abroad if you have your own transport.

    You are always welcome to borrow a bike for some local adventures. We like to go out and exploring the nature reserves, beaches, lakes, rivers and wine regions some weekends. If volunteers are staying for longer then a couple of weeks then they will always be welcome to join us, generally good times and memorable adventures to be had. :v)

    This area is also just a typical quiet Aussie countryside setting... i.e it runs at a fairly different pace to Sydney. Interesting to foreigners, and a nice place to take stock and re-energise before jumping back into your travels..

    We think Workaway volunteers could benefit staying with us as they can explore the country culture, practice English or speak German, enjoy a bit of homely family life, apply and/or learn practical skills and balance their study/ work/travel with their exchange hours.

    We look forward to hearing from you

    Cheers and happy travels, Cami, Felix, Jana and Frieda

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    22 per week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





















Host ref number: 498443132977