Help at our dairy farm in Akureyri, Iceland. Come and discover Icelandic culture through us.

new host
Country

Iceland

Favourited 76 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/04/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 4, Halldór Arnar (35), Lilja Dögg (30) and our two little boys, 3 years old and 10 months old. We are farmers and live on a dairy farm in the north of Iceland. We have 39 milking cows and 80 bulls. This summer we will be building a new barn for the cows, which will offer much better housing conditions for the cows and much better working conditions for us.

    The farm is surrounded by beautiful landscapes placed in a valley with mountains all around, and a river close by. You can really have some beautiful hikes on your free-time here. Akureyri, the biggest town in the north is only 10 minutes drive away, with museums, tourist attractions and entertainments as well as restaurants and shops. We have a great swimming pool in the area, just 5 minutes drive from here.

    Our free time is variable, some days not so much, some days an hour here and an hour there and some days are calmer than others. Whatever the free-time is, we try to use it to make good memories with our kids. On calm days we would be happy to take a ride to show you attractions or beautiful places in the neighborhood. In the evenings when the kids are asleep we like to relax in the sofa watching tv-series or movies :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Coming here, you would become a part of our family and learn about Icelandic culture through us. You would also get an insight of how farming works and what duties we have as farmers. It is said that it is easiest to learn a language through a child speaking the language. Well, we have two, and one of them is also just starting to learn it himself. Also, the beautiful landscapes of course, that offer great mindfulness moments :) We have two cars so most of the time you could borrow one of them on your days off to travel around.

  • Help

    Help

    We sometimes find that we could use some extra hands, either with house works or outside at the farm.

    House works are for example light cleaning, laundry, babysitting, cooking etc., and the farm works are for example feeding the cows and the calves, milking, keeping the farm tidy and general maintenance.

    We consider anyone who would like to do either housework or farmwork, or a combination of those two.

    We ask for a person with a clean criminal record.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and danish/norwegian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own room with a bed, a desk and a clothes cabinet. As a part of the family you would of course share all meals with us when you are at home, whether it is your day off or not. We eat quite a lot of our own meat, but vegetarians are also welcome, but might have to cook some meals yourself :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Please note, we do not accept smokers.

    Since we live in the countryside, driving license is optimal.

    We will only considerate people that are ready to stay for at least a month with us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    We would like that to be up to you, at least 30 hours a week, but more if you want to. The hours at the farm are very variable, some days are short and some days are longer.


Host ref number: 489467164177