Join our vibrant baby care collective in social movement capital Toronto, Canada

updated
Country

Canada

Favourited 146 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/06/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️Join our vibrant baby care collective in social movement capital Toronto, Canada (Or join our family on a summer trip to Berlin!!!)

    We're a single parent and an almost-2 year old building intentional community. We are based in TORONTO but are visiting BERLIN this summer (9-25 JULY). We'll be back in the Toronto in late AUGUST and would love to host visitors and community members in either or both cities who want to help out with the baby and be part of something bigger.

    We usually live close to the centre of Toronto, a world city whose cultural and activist movements attract people from all over. We live on our own but have a care collective - a large network of chosen family and friends who meet with us regularly to help out with the baby and form part of our lives. Most of us are people of colour and lesbian, gay, bisexual, queer or transgender, and involved in arts or activism of some kind. You would form part of our community and watch the baby, play with her at home or at drop ins, libraries, playgrounds and family resource centres, clothe her, feed her, or change her nappies as required.

    The baby is raised multilingually in German, Thai and Patois. Please state any skills you have in these languages. Please also state any experience you've had looking after babies this age and living communally with others as a flatmate.

    Applicants with background in the Caribbean, Thailand or German-speaking countries, as well as applicants with lived experience in the communities that make up the care collective (please see the first paragraph) are preferred.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You would experience being part of something bigger. Care collectives bring us closer to social justice: to a world where parents stay in community, where adults and children are in community with each other, where children have abundant access to people of many generations and experiences. They provide support and practise interdependence in a context where there is often a significant lack of support for parents (family not in the country, no partner etc.). And they let folks who may not otherwise have this opportunity experience and gain skills for hanging out with babies.

    You would experience living close to the centre of Toronto, one of the amazing world cities out there. The place has all the culture, art and scenes you could wish for. Its social movements - from queer and trans politics to prison abolition to environmental justice to Indigenous sovereignty to Black Lives Matter - are inspiring.

  • Help

    Help

    You would help out a maximum of 25 h a week. Your main focus would be the baby, but you would be expected to chip in with the chores equally and independently as a member of the household.

    THINGS FOR HELPERS TO KNOW
    - Newborns are fragile creatures: If you suspect you have a bug, please cancel. Please wash your hands first thing when you walk in, before touching the baby.
    - On any given date you might spend your time feeding the baby, playing with the baby while I'm cooking, stretching, bathing or getting some work or life admin done. You might take the baby to a play ground or drop in at a family centre, library or the children's book bank, or you might play with them at home while I'm running some errands outside.
    - Do things that need doing (but be mindful of your own boundaries and capacity): If there is a stack of dirty dishes, load them into the dishwasher, if you're the last person up in the evening, wipe down the surfaces and take out the rubbish, if it’s lunch time, heat up food, if there’s laundry, take it downstairs, take out the recycling when you go out. The point is, just dig in and help out, don’t wait to be directed. I'll pay for food, rent and bills but you'll be expected to take turns with shopping and cleaning.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English, Thai, Patois, some French and a bit of ASL

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    (((In Berlin, we'll stay in a ground floor Hinterhaus apartment in Neukölln Körnerkiez. The building is pretty quiet and the apartment stays relatively cool. You'd have your own bedroom and we'd share a cute kitchen and living room with door directly out to a small Innenhof. The apartment is located near the Hermannstr stop on the Ringbahn and U8 lines. It is a 20 min walk to Tempelhofer Feld. I don't have accessibility info at this stage but can find out for you if needed. The apartment likely has dog hair, in case you are allergic.)))

    In Toronto, we live in a cute 2 bedroom apartment close to Toronto's Downtown East, walking distance to many great places to check out. The apartment is in a charming new building. It is warm and cosy in winter, and has stunning sunrises and a peaceful view. There's a cute balcony where you can grow your own herbs and flowers if you wish. You would have your own room with shelf space you can fill, as well as your own bathroom.The building has an elevator that is accessible for wheelchair users. There's automatic doorknobs at the entrance. Main St subway, too, has elevators and is accessible. However, the washroom door in my apartment is too small for some power wheelchairs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    TORONTO INFO:

    Beautiful new building with good community in a vibrant immigrant neighbourhood with tons of parks, services, food places and shops, close to free indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a short bus ride away from the Beaches, and a short train ride to Rouge Park.

    Allergy advice: I don't have pets and am a non-smoker. There's laminate in the living room, kitchen and entrance area, and carpet in the bedrooms. The carpet is new and hasn't been exposed to any further allergens.

    Minutes from subway and buses that connect you instantly to the downtown. Lots of groceries and immigrant-owned shops nearby. Walkable to cafes, libraries, community centres, drop ins and parks.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Jade and her Pama
Super Jade at one of her favourite drop ins
Jade at the drop in
Our awesome past visitors
Jade has many uncles, aunties and aunckles
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 488632737511