Come and help an Artist with converting my existing studio into my "tiny home" in Philomath. Oregon, USA.

Favourited 2 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    20/05/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! I live at the base of the coast range of the Willamette Valley, in a small town near a large organic farm. This town is a 6 mile bike ride from Corvallis, a lively university town. We are an 1.5 hours from Portland, 1 hour from Eugene and 1 hour from Salem and 45 minutes from the beautiful Oregon coast.

    I am a ceramic artist, with the project of converting my existing studio into my "tiny home" and working outdoor deck studio, eventually moving into the space as both home and working art studio. I began this project to be able to live according to earth's cycles and seasons within a rural feeling neighborhood, so I care very much about my choices and care about environmental impact.

    I live a simple life, enjoy learning about other people, cultures, languages, and have a passion for the outdoors, dancing, arts, eating healthy, organic, local, native, wild food.

    I am learning how to build as I go, and would love to be moved into my newly converted home and studio by the end of the summer!

    I am excited to learn about you, your culture and this workaway program, as I am newly introduced to it by a friend who hosts regularly and loves the experiences and friendships gained from it.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Help

    Help

    I have a small amount of building experience, so I am very much learning as I go, as a friend described, "you know your way around tools!"
    So if you would like to learn along with me, or have skills in any of the following, that would be wonderful!
    I would like building assistance:
    - Lowering the loft 6" and making it longer
    - building a non-weight bearing wall with a pocket door
    - installing an earthen floor over subflooring
    - insulating and drywall
    - Finish work, paint and moving things around
    - Building a kitchen on my outdoor deck
    - Building a composting toilet and on-demand shower
    - Plumbing the outdoor kitchen

    As alternatives, I also have a yard and garden that would benefit from attention, and some house cleaning/organizing tasks.

    May: lowering loft 6", building a wall with pocket door
    June: floors, insulation, drywall
    July: kitchen, toilet/shower

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This stay would provide the feel for living in a small town, where you can walk to the library, post office, hardware store and organic sourdough bread baker within 10 minutes of my home. There is an organic farm stand 1.5 miles from my home.
    In contrast, we are 6 miles from a university town, where talks, music, groups, performances, film festivals, art festivals, farmer's market and many other interesting things are happening daily. We are at the base of the coast mountain Mary's Peak, with many exploring, hiking trails/biking trails. King's Valley has a myriad of micro farms of all kinds of food production.

    I am part of a web of crafts people here who are interested in bringing back art and craft appreciation, as well as small business as a livelihood.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, very little Japanese, lesser Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have your own room, with a futon bed, limited storage space, and shared bathroom. If you prefer to pitch a tent, there is a yard to do so. Organic, vegetable heavy kitchen, whole foods.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is an extra bicycle available to you. Many things within walking distance. Bus stop 2 blocks away goes to Corvallis daily. Hiking, and a park within walking distance.

    I usually spend my time working on my ceramic art business, my projects and adventuring with friends. I go on outdoor outings and would be happy to introduce you to our lovely coast.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Host ref number: 482494836765