Share our home, our culture, and our work. Ontario, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 90 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    33  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/05/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    200

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a retired government employee, military and police, she is an English teacher. We are not affiliated with any organization. We live in an eighteenth century Victorian home that needs assistance in finishing projects so that we can enjoy it more. Looking for 1 or 2 eager and strong helpers in April and/or May.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are both English teachers. :) Canadian history and culture.

  • Help

    Help

    General help around the house and finishing started, but not yet complete, renovations. Interested persons must be self sufficient and able to cook their own meals. We provide all the food you can eat of course. :)
    Canadian history is important to me and I would love to share what I know.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English/Chinese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Room and board. 2 Private bedrooms, furnished. Share rest of common areas. Private 2 piece bathroom for our guests. We provide the food but you have to cook and eat it. :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Napanee is a small town and very quiet. Some local sights along the river. All manner of shopping within walking distance.

    Perspective volunteers must be willing to share experiences of life and conversation. We have done this for a few years and feel that sharing our cultural experiences and values to be so very important and enlightening. Sure we all enjoy our private and quiet time but interaction is great as well.

    Social drinking permitted. Smokers welcome but outside please.

    Nearest airport is in Toronto. (Pearson) We would be happy to meet you in a nearby town (Belleville) and drive you in getting you to a train station for your departure. If you choose to fly in to Ottawa we can pick you up in Kingston.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Shintaro, from Japan, is a young man who worked very hard every day. We will miss you sir. Good luck in your future travels.
Marielle from France was such a great lady to have in out home. She did some fantastic and intricate work for us.
Alina with the finished wagon wheel she worked on.
Annika from Germany working on a wagon wheel
Luis from Brazil planning beams.
Valentin and Louis learning the trade. Lots of fun.
My first two Workawayers. Marco and Keshiro. Awesome fellas!





















Host ref number: 475256721792