Help out in a small hamlet in rural SW France

Favourited 102 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    06/11/2017

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Brian and Lorna Green we live in a small hamlet, and enjoy all that rural life in France has to offer. Our place is a renovated farmhouse run sustainably (solar heating, rainwater harvesting and coppicing to supply firewood) with 8 hectares on the border of the Aveyron and Tarn and Garonne in the Midi Pyrenees. We enjoy growing our own vegetables, good food, music (listening and playing) and lots of other creative activities (painting, printmaking, and various fabric work) which we are happy to share with you. Our recent activity has included dry stone wall building, tanning sheep and rabbit pelts and hedge laying. last year we explored several new activities include cheese making, growing soya beans and shiitake mushrooms. There is always something new to have a go at.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    Our main focus at the moment is maintaining the garden, small animal management and developing an orchard. In addition we are developing various parts of the property (a workspace and gallery in a barn) there is always lots of preserving to be done in the summer and autumn. Wood collection and cutting, dry stone walling and general food preparation and household tasks are always on the list. We often work with neighbours to help out with their projects too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and some French and Japanese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A self contained small apartment with a kitchen/living area, a double bedroom with en suite bathroom with the shared use of the rest of the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live as a family and would appreciate visitors helping with and clearing up communal meals, this is an activity outside of 'working time'. We are a non smoking household and welcome non smokers.

    This is an isolated rural setting and unfortunately no car is available for visitors to use. We offer a pick up and lift back to the railway station. Visitors can enjoy walking, canoeing, rock climbing, river and a municipal pool swimming in Najac in summer, visiting local bastide (fortified) villages and many local markets we are happy to offer a lift at weekends.

    Just 9km away is Najac, one of the hundred most beautiful villages in France...a lovely afternoon walk through hidden lanes and villages. There are regular trains to and from Toulouse to Laguepie or Najac and planes into Rodez and Toulouse. Toulouse is a wonderful city to explore if rural life gets too much.

    The immediate area around La Contie is unspoilt and has never been used for large scale agricultural production so we were able in May, for instance, to enjoy 12 different types of orchids within 200 meters of the house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We aim to live by making and doing, self reliance in community with others living locally. We genuinely try to combine living creatively without a huge impact on the environment. We have a life time of experience to share and think we are open minded enough to learn from others. All are welcome.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Volunteer during the mornings 5 days a week max 25 hours a week

My Photo Album

Rabbits in springtime
A favourite rose "Tess of the Durbervilles"
Garden in May .. Irises, alliums and petunias.
Looking under the house towards the pottager
Outside eating....
Early spring garden from the house
Working with sheep and rabbit pelts
Najac on a misty morning just 9 km away.
Villefranche market a Thursday experience not to be missed
From across the valley
Our girls..always happy to see us ...with kitchen scraps
The kitchen-dining rooms
Brian and Lorna








Host ref number: 456942859262