Off grid experience on a finca in the hills above Tortosa, Spain


Favourited 253 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register


  • Description


    We are leasing an olive, almond and carob finca in the hills above Tortosa that has been largely neglected for a couple of years. As its now for sale we may be moving to another location soon which will involve needing to build animal shelters as well as everything else. We have goats that we milk for drinking raw and make cheese plus lots of baby goats that need handling and chickens for eggs. Currently we are looking for anyone with artisan abilities or desires as we have an opportunity to add to a large festival in April.

    There's a shared caravan available as well as tons of space for tenting. We have only agricultural water, no sewer and solar electric so are an off grid experience. We have also started a coop of nearby off griders for work exchange once a month and product exchange as well. Our dream is to someday have more independent working people join us to share in the initial expenses and continual work that is involved in becoming as self sufficient as possible and then to use the coop to exchange for what we cannot or don't want to make/grow. Since we are striving to grow into self sufficiency between what we can make/grow on the farm and what we can trade others for; if there is specific foods you must have be prepared to purchase for your own consumption. We eat meat but can accommodate vegetarians; please no vegans. We are looking for independent workers that self manage from a list of ongoing tasks and projects that we will train on; if you are the type that requires someone to tell you what to do every moment this isn't the place for you. We do need at least one volunteer at all times so we ask that you confirm and commit to the dates that you will be here so we know we have coverage.
    2018 is bringing big changes as we will be moving to a very different facility because of this and other reasons we will only be accepting long stay applicants after March.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Help


    We need help with the animals, the garden, cutting up wood, working with the trees, cutting brush, and making things to sell etc. as well as any help learning Spanish and/or Catalan would be greatly appreciated.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English. Beginning Catalan and Spanish

  • Accommodation


    There's a shared caravan and two and three person tents as well. We have plenty of blankets for the colder months.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are very close to the river Ebru and there's a cost efficient bus service to many ancient sites and castles nearby. We are 6km from the nearest village of Ravel de Crist and 9km from the larger city of Tortosa with a bike/hike path that goes down by the river to other nearby villages. Bikes are available for use while here and there are buses and trains in Tortosa as well.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak English and are learning both Catalan and Spanish so could help helpers with English practice. You will have the opportunity to learn all about raising and milking goats as well as making cheese, kombucha, granola and carob powder. We can teach rock building methods for walls and shelters as well as rocket stove construction. We are in a very arid environment so are experimenting with different water saving and collecting systems as well as other permaculture techniques. Stephanie is certified in the energy healing modality called Pranic Healing and does distance healing on clients all over the world. Geode was a semi famous (in southern USA) musician for many years so can teach guitar/ bass guitar and entertain.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Host ref number: 444547175294