Come and help me to do up my place in a great part of Dublin, Ireland

updated
Country

Ireland

Favourited 521 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    26  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/04/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    178

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    99.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have been working on my home for 2 years now and have had mostly positive experience with workawayers. I am at the point where I only really need skilled help and am happy to not take anyone if I dont find the right person. I have some availability from 26th April to 10 th May(two people potentially) and for one from May 10-29th . I need specific construction skills carpentry, paths/concrete, painting (as in you have done it a lot) dry wall/plasterboard or tiling. I am always open to people with renovation/handyman skills contacting me. I would consider someone to help with cleaning. While I appreciate we can all learn, I have no one to teach you so please only reply if you can do these jobs. I do not need help with cooking or gardening (except some weeding).
    I do not take people initially for longer than a month.


    --
    I am renovating a 6 bed house in the centre of Dublin. You have a great opportunity to explore Dublin while living centrally, learn a bit more about Irish food and culture and take advantage of the location for English classes or exchanges. I take my workawayers i(f they want) into see the book of Kells and usually to Wicklow for the day, sometimes we go to the West coast. I will make an effort to help you to improve your English if you wish.

    I work part time from home. I have had many workawayers. Most of the workawayers have been great & enjoy their time with me. I need regular help and I enjoy the company but lead a busy life myself. I like people who like to get out, explore, do things and enjoy themselves. I love to hear about what you have done which has ranged from busking in Temple bar, exploring the North, hiking in Wicklow to just living in Diceys bar. Its up to you to make the most of your time in Dublin, I can make suggestions, advise or drop you places but you have to get out and about. Sitting in my house is not a good use of your time here.



    I am about 15 minutes walk from Dublin City Centre (Stephens Green) and 4 minutes from the Luas stop. Its a great spot for exploring Dublin. I am on a direct bus to the airport.
    I like independent people with at least intermediate English level.

    I love to cook. I do not need someone else to cook. I would like you to clean up after yourself and hoover your room and clean the shared bathroom once a week on top of your working hours.

    I get a lot of applications as I am so central. So when you write please explain how you can help me.
    I don't take vegetarians or people who don't eat a major food group like meat or fish or dairy or require a special diet. We eat lunch together and I don't want to have to cater for one person's preferences.

    I don't have a dog but have dogs that visit once a week or so so please noone with animal allergies.

    I accept people with EU nationality or non EU nationals with a valid work or student visa. I do not accept non EU nationals on a holiday visa as I have had several turned away at immigration. Please note having a student visa for another EU country is not valid for working here.

    I do not take people coming in very late or very late flights. I find flights in the evening get delayed so 9 pm flight arrival into Dublin airport max. This could result in an 11 pm or 12 am arrival. I don't want people coming in too late as it wakes my whole house up. If you book a late flight you must stay in a hostel.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I live in a great part of Dublin, much of it historic though my house is modern and am happy to tell you where to go and bring you round a bit. We might even get in a trip to my home county in the West. I speak ok French and a small bit of German but as you are here to learn it is better if we speak English. I am friendly and sociable with many callers to my house. I have a bike for the use of workawayers.

  • Help

    Help

    I need help with maintenance, painting, renovation (sound proofing and insulation), carpentry and electrical, some cleaning and housework.

    I want someone to help 25 hours a week, 5 days. The days may be on the weekend as needed, you will be asked to help no more than 25 hours a week but sometimes I need help at the weekend.
    Some of the tasks are outside. Bring a raincoat. Its Ireland and it rains a lot. We work outside in showery rain. Bring warm clothes. Please bring work clothes and shoes. I supply some but I cant fit clothes or shoes for all.

    We are not meant to use power tools in a residential area after 7 on a weekday or after lunchtime Saturdays. I cannot accept you changing your hours to the evening. I prefer people to help in the morning and fit in with my schedule though if you want to change your hours to get an extra day off and help a longer day thats ok.

    Please don't contact me and offer me childcare, cooking or help with animals. I don't need this.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, a little German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house is on three floors. Downstairs in another building adjacent to the main house you will have your own shared bedroom for two (shared with one other workawayer) with use of a shared shower in the next door room. I am happy to buy food for breakfast and lunch (I will make it if I am here) and cook dinner 2-3 nights a week. I sometimes am out, if so I can leave you something. I prefer not to take vegetarians or people who don't eat a major food group like fish or meat .
    Please note that I am providing you with accommodation not your friends.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is so much to see and do in Dublin. There is lovely park at the end of the road, a yoga centre round the corner, a pay as you go swimming pool and gym 10 mins walk, a cinema ten minutes walk, numerous restaurants, cafe and pubs. I am 4 minutes from 2 Luas stations and about 15 minutes walk from the city centre. I collect antiques and regularly visit auctions.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


















Host ref number: 437937724292