Love animals? This is the place for you in Haida Gwai, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 137 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/06/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    128

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a single woman living on a large rural property on Haida Gwaii. My passion is animals, and most of what I do is centered around improving the lives of other creatures. I work part time managing the local SPCA, foster dogs in my home, and also board and train dogs. There are canines coming and going almost daily, and 4 residents ranging from a Chihuahua to a Great Pyrenees. Horses, chickens and turkeys too. None of these get eaten (food is totally vegetarian) though the chickens do share their eggs. Except for the barking and the eagles calling, this is a pretty peaceful place.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am happy to teach anything you want to learn, if I know how. Of course animal care and positive dog training, but also how to use woodworking tools, cooking, building, gardening, English...
    I like open, direct communication and will happily participate in negotiation and problem-solving.

  • Help

    Help

    There's always lots to do here, and if you have a special interest I'll try to accommodate that if I can. Helpers might work in the garden, walk the dogs, build a fence, cook dinner, sweep the floor, haul seaweed from the beach... Petting of dogs is mandatory!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For this year, there's a second bedroom in my house for you. If that's taken, there's a small loft in the kennel. I'm looking at perhaps building a separate cabin in future. Meals: breakfast is self-serve, lunch is often leftovers, dinner is something new created by one of us (I'd love you to cook if you have skills in this area, but have had some really disastrous meals when helpers don't know what they're doing!) My water supply is entirely rainwater, so during dry periods we may not have running water. Not usually a huge problem as it's usually summer when this happens and there is a stream very close by. Please be aware that there is no flush toilet here; I've posted a photo of my compost toilet so that no one is surprised by this.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I live about 20 minutes from the closest town. There's no public transport but I will lend you a bike and give you lifts when I'm going out, which happens at least twice a week. Hitchhiking is easy and safe here; it's a great way to meet a local! No internet access; workawayers can use the free internet at the public library when in town.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week







Host ref number: 391724836566