Help on a family-run organic farm in Rogersville, Tennessee, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 85 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    959

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Family run farm, formerly certified organic. Lots of animals- chicken, goats, pigs, rabbits and possibly sheep. We need help with fencing, growing plants, caring for and harvesting chicken and rabbits, pigs and goats. There is always something going on. We live with our 14 year old daughter and a pack of rescue dogs, and several house cats. Farming is our first job, but my husband is now driving over the road and I need muscles 💪 We have a couple eco projects in process, and our bnb cabin is in need of a few more upgrades. Since we are no longer attending the Farmers Markets, at long last we have time to landscape and transplant all kinds of plantings. We are also building pathways from our driveway and back deck. And, I never thought I would have to say this, but, if you carry a gun, please tell me and allow me to decide if you and your gun are welcome in my home with my 14 year old.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about several aspects of animal husbandry, care of plants, harvesting and growing, seed starting, some butchering, some breeding. If you are so inclined, you can learn to use power tools, build simple structures, build fencing, cages and enclosures, paint... We have farm projects, household projects, craft-like projects. And- we always have stuff to fix. We heat with wood, make numerous personal care products and many simple household products. We eat mostly from the farm, and from friends who grow what we do not. If you are not an English speaker, you will learn something from us. If you are not a cook, you will learn something from us.

  • Help

    Help

    Possibly do delivery driving. We need all sorts of labor. If you are an early riser and do not mind sweating and getting dirty, them planting, harvesting or working with the animals will make you happy. If you are the type to build things, we need help fencing, hanging gates, making grape trellis, building a solar shower, and more. If you are more inclined to be indoors some of the time, you can add to our blog posts, write newsletter issues for us, drive deliveries, cook and clean or do laundry, wash dogs, ride the riding mower, gather and clean herbs, pick blackberries, make laundry soap, are you getting the drift?

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    A little French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For workaway stays we have a fully furnished room in the house with a full shared bathroom. No AC, no cell service at the farm. Shared cooking and eating. If you like to cook, I will be happy to let you. We eat meat from the farm or from our farm friends. No smoking in the house. You may use the laundry in our garage. There is also room to camp.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The regional transportation centers are Asheville, NC; Knoxville, TN; Johnson City, ;TN. There are lots of natural activities like hiking, and floating on the Clinch river, to enjoy in our immediate neighborhood. Of course we are outside a lot, and it stays light really late, so we work extra... For culture, we rely on PBS and public radio, but if you come with a car, you can plan outings to local culture, music festivals and more. If you do not come with a car, you can ride along with us and do errands when you are out In town or in a city on delivery. We can pick you up regionally if you make advance arrangements.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week







Host ref number: 381749268156